If you have been charged with or accused of Second Degree Arson in Denver, Douglas County or anywhere else in Colorado, consult a Second Degree Arson lawyer immediately. The Arson lawyers at O'Malley and Sawyer have represented men and women charged with Second Degree Arson for over 25 years. Your future is at stake and you need an expert legal advocate at your side to protect it.
How Is Second Degree Arson Charged?
Second Degree Arson, C.R.S. 18-4-103, is charged in Glendale, Arapahoe County and across Colorado whenever a person knowingly sets fire to, burns, causes to be burned, or by the use of any explosive damages or destroys, or causes to be damaged or destroyed, any property of another without his consent, other than a building or occupied structure. In many Second Degree Arson cases, fires start accidentally, but the law is often unforgiving. That's why you need an experienced Second Degree Arson lawyer who understands criminal law who can create a strong case for you.
Douglas County Lawyer for 2nd Degree Arson: How Second Degree Arson is Sentenced in Douglas County
Amount of Damage Sentence Range $100 or more of damage Class 4 Felony Second Degree Arson Less than $100 of damage Class 2 Misdemeanor 2nd Degree Arson
In Douglas County and across Colorado, Second Degree Arson is a class 4 felony, if the damage is one hundred dollars or more. However, Second Degree Arson can be a class 2 misdemeanor, if the damage is less than one hundred dollars. Fines, along with a jail or prison sentence, are possible upon a conviction of Arson in the Second Degree. Don't wait if facing any charges or accusations of Second Degree Arson. Call a Second Degree Arson lawyer at O'Malley and Sawyer immediately, who can begin planning your defense. Our attorneys also advise you not to speak with police or those investigating a fire if facing any charges or accusations. Doing so can aggravate the consequences of your case even more.
An aggressive Second Degree Arson lawyer fighting on your behalf is invaluable.
Examples of 2nd Degree Arson in Colorado: Accidents Can Lead to Criminal Charges
Camping Trip Gone Wrong
John and his 18-year-old son Mark are camping in Estes Park, Colorado for Father's Day weekend. One night, they start a campfire. John leaves for a moment to go use the restroom. While he is gone, his son Mark gets distracted and goes for a short walk just behind where they pitched their tent. While the two of them are gone, the wind picks up. The campfire soon gets out of control because of the wind and burns the areas surrounding their campsite. John and his son are later charged with Second Degree Arson.
4th Of July Mishap
On the 4th of July early evening, Jeff and his sister Joanne go behind their house to light fireworks in Larimer County. Things are going well until Joanne begins arguing with Jeff because he won't let her light the fireworks she wants to. Upset, Joanne wrestles the fireworks out of Jeff's hands and the sparkler drops. Before long, the fire spreads and damages the open space property behind their home. Though clearly a devastating mistake, Jeff and his sister could face charges of 2nd Degree Arson.
Jefferson County DA Has Burden of Proof in 2nd Degree Arson Cases
To be convicted of 2nd Degree Arson in Jefferson County and across Colorado, a Jefferson County District Attorney has to prove you knowingly committed Second Degree Arson. In many cases, this is difficult to prove because evidence is hard to find in a 2nd Degree Arson case. That's why the prosecution will often look to witness statements and circumstantial evidence to try to prove you knowingly committed Second Degree Arson. If there are no witness statements, our Arson lawyers will focus on the reasonable doubt in your case. This gives us a higher chance of getting a favorable outcome for you.
Restitution and Second Degree Arson in Colorado? Hire a Second Degree Arson Lawyer to Defend You
The law is unforgiving in Arson cases. Hire an attorney to defend you today!
If you've been charged with Second Degree Arson in Federal Heights, Adams County or anywhere else in Colorado, contact a Second Degree Arson lawyer immediately. In addition to possible jail or prison time, restitution can often be a crippling consequence. Fires travel fast and damage property even faster. Costs to control the fire and repair damage from the fire can be painfully high. You cannot afford to risk your future by standing against charges or accusations of Second Degree Arson in the courtroom alone. You need the best Second Degree Arson lawyers who specialize in criminal law to fight alongside you. Call today to set up a free initial consultation with our Second Degree Arson attorneys, and protect your future.
Learn more about other degrees of Arson in Colorado:
- First Degree Arson – C.R.S. 18-4-102
- Third Degree Arson – C.R.S. 18-4-104
- Fourth Degree Arson – C.R.S. 18-4-105
Second Degree Arson Colorado Statute – C.R.S. 18-4-103
““(1) A person who knowingly sets fire to, burns, causes to be burned, or by the use of any explosive damages or destroys, or causes to be damaged or destroyed, any property of another without his consent, other than a building or occupied structure, commits second degree arson.
(2) Second degree arson is a class 4 felony, if the damage is one hundred dollars or more.
(3) Second degree arson is a class 2 misdemeanor, if the damage is less than one hundred dollars.”