A person will be charged with Theft in Denver or Jefferson County if they permanently deprive someone of the use of his or her property without authorization. In other words, if you take something of value from another person without their permission, you will be facing charges of Theft. Here are a few common examples of Theft in Colorado.
Theft Attorney in Douglas County: Examples of Theft:
- Petty Theft
- Felony Theft
- Misdemeanor Theft
- Embezzlement Employee Theft
- Shoplifting Theft
- Identity Theft
- Vehicle Theft
- Theft by Receiving
- Altering or Forging a Prescription
- Fraud by Check
Theft Lawyer in Arapahoe and Adams County: The Sentence for Theft Charges
Theft is a unique crime in Adams and Arapahoe County. This is because the seriousness of the crime depends on the amount or value of the item which was stolen. Depending on the amount or value stolen, a person can either be charged with a misdemeanor or felony. Misdemeanors are punishable with a jail sentence, and felonies are punishable with incarceration in prison. The problem with Theft is that the District Attorney adds the value of several stolen items together to increase the level of charges. As a result, they often overcharge Theft cases. For example, the defendant could have participated in several different heists. So, the DA will add the value of all the stolen items together as opposed to handling each case separately. This could cause a charge to change from a misdemeanor to a felony, which results in a possible sentenced to the Colorado Department of Corrections.
Price Range for Items Stolen in Theft Cases
- Class 1 Petty Offense
- If items were valued less than $50.
- Class 3 Misdemeanor
- If items were valued from $50 to $299.
- Class 2 Misdemeanor
- If items were valued from $300 to $749.
- Class 1 Misdemeanor:
- If items were valued from $750 to $1,999.
- Class 6 Felony
- If items were valued from $2,000 to $4,999.
- Class 5 Felony
- If items were valued from $5,000 to $19,999
- Class 4 Felony
- If items were valued from $20,000 to $99,999.99
- Class 3 Felony
- If items were valued from $100,000 to $999,9999.99
- Class 2 Felony
- If items were valued at $1,000,000 or more
Lawyer for Theft in Jefferson County: Elements Needed To Be Proven for a Theft Conviction
When a Theft case goes to court in Jefferson County, there are certain elements which the prosecution must prove. These are listed below.
- Purpose: The defendant acted with purpose in acquiring the item of value.
- Intent: The alleged accuser hid or abandoned the item with the intent to keep it permanently.
- Demands: The person charged with Theft demands payment for return of the item.
A knowledgeable attorney will know when you have been
overcharged with Theft, and can often get your charges reduced or dismissed.
Why You Need a Theft Defense Attorney
If you have been accused of Theft in Arapahoe or El Paso County, you need a lawyer who is experienced at defending clients accused of this crime. Having either a misdemeanor or felony charge on your record can radically affect your future. Your ability to buy a house, acquire financial aid, buy a weapon and even find a job will become more difficult. You need an aggressive attorney who will fight to save your future and explain the criminal process as we work for the best outcome in your case. Getting your case dismissed is our top priority.
We Understand That People Make Mistakes
At Sawyer Legal Group, LLC we understand that people make mistakes. However, those mistakes should not ruin your future. Our goal is to represent and not to judge. Instead, we work tirelessly for our clients to present an unbeatable defense. Sometimes, we are able to get charges dropped or reduced because of swift action on the part of our client and ourselves. We fight against illegal searches conducted by the police, overcharges by the District Attorney, and false witnesses. Our attorneys work hard to uncover the truth.
Theft Criminal Defense Attorney in Denver: Contact for a Free Consultation
At Sawyer Legal Group, our lawyers have a high success rate. This is because we truly care about our clients. It is out of a desire to help that we offer a free consultation. We want you to come in and talk about your case. We will discuss your options, and you can decide if we are the right fit for your case. If you are seeking a Christian attorney, we are here to provide some calm in the storm. If you are worried about the finances involved, we offer flexible payment plans designed to meet you where you are. Don't give into the stress surrounding your case. Instead, contact a lawyer who can give you a clear picture of the charges against you and fight for the best possible outcome in your criminal case.
Colorado Theft Statute: C.R.S. 18-4-401
“A person commits theft when he or she knowingly obtains, retains, or exercises control over anything of value of another without authorization or by threat or deception; or receives, loans money by pawn or pledge on, or disposes of anything of value or belonging to another that he or she knows or believes to have been stolen, and: (a) Intends to deprive the other person permanently of the use or benefit of the thing of value; (b) Knowingly uses, conceals, or abandons the thing of value in such manner as to deprive the other person permanently of its use or benefit; (c) Uses, conceals, or abandons the thing of value intending that such use, concealment, or abandonment will deprive the other person permanently of its use or benefit; (d) Demands any consideration to which he or she is not legally entitled as a condition of restoring the thing of value to the other person; or (e) Knowingly retains the thing of value more than seventy-two hours after the agreed-upon time of return in any lease or hire agreement.”