What is Third Degree Criminal Trespass?
A person is charged in Jefferson and Denver County with Third Degree Criminal Trespass when he or she allegedly enters the property (not a house) of someone else without his or her permission. The property referred to can be a fenced in yard, common area, shed, vehicle, etc. Sometimes, an individual is also charged with this crime when he or she refuses to leave the premises when asked.
3rd Degree Trespassing is charged when a person enters someone's property without permission.
What is the Sentence for 3rd Degree Criminal Trespass?
The sentence for Third Degree Criminal Trespassing in Larimer County varies depending on the circumstances.
Class 5 Felony
When a person is charged with class 5 felony 3rd Degree Trespass, they face the possibility of a 1-5 year prison sentence to the Colorado Department of Corrections and a hefty fine.
Class 3 Misdemeanor
When a person is charged with class 3 misdemeanor Third Degree Trespass, they face the possibility of a county jail sentence of up to 6 months, and a fine of up to $750.
Sometimes, Third Degree Trespass is charged as a petty offense, which is less severe, but there are still consequences, such as jail, treatment, and an educational program.
Why You Need a Lawyer for Trespassing Charges
Because you might be facing either a jail or prison sentence if you have been charged with Third Degree Trespassing, it is imperative that you seek experienced legal representation immediately. With early involvement, your experienced attorney might be able to have your charges dropped or your sentence either reduced or eliminated altogether. However, it is important that you choose a full time criminal defense attorney who has experience with Trespassing charges and has a thorough understanding of criminal law.
The attorneys at our office are committed to the future of our clients.
At Sawyer Legal Group, we have been successfully representing clients accused of Trespass or some degree of Trespass for over a decade. It is because of our commitment to our clients and our tenacity in the cases we represent that we are considered an indispensable asset in the courtroom. Based on our experience, most Trespass charges involve alcohol, a broken relationship, or a misunderstanding: sometimes all three. Our attorneys are passionate about defending our clients, and have success in beating the government and protecting the futures of those we represent. Your future is at stake, so work with an attorney who will fight to get you the best possible outcome in your case.
Colorado Third Degree Criminal Trespass Statute: C.R.S. 18-4-504
“A person commits person commits the crime of third degree criminal trespass if such person unlawfully enters or remains in or upon premises of another.”
Premises means: “Real property, buildings, and other improvements thereon, and the stream banks and beds of any non navigable fresh water streams flowing through such real property.”