With every crime in Colorado, there is a sentencing range that applies based on Colorado's sentencing statute. The question many of our clients have after being charged with a crime is what these sentencing ranges are. When someone is sentenced following court or trial, a judge is the one who determines what his or her sentence ends up being. In Jefferson and Adams County, and across Colorado, there are various sentencing ranges for a misdemeanor or felony offense.
Sentencing Range for a Felony in Arapahoe County
When convicted of a felony, you do not face jail time. Instead, you may face time in the Colorado Department of Corrections. You should always speak with a knowledgeable criminal lawyer if you're facing any criminal charges, but particularly so with a felony charge. An expert attorney will be able to discuss felony convictions with you in more detail.
Class - Sentencing
Class 1 Felony - Life or death sentence
Class 2 Felony - 8-24 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections
Class 3 Felony - 4-12 years in DOC
Class 3 Felony (Extraordinary Risk) - 4-16 years in DOC
Class 4 Felony - 2-6 years in DOC
Class 4 Felony (Extraordinary Risk) - 2-8 years in DOC
Class 5 Felony - 1-3 years in DOC
Class 5 Felony (Extraordinary Risk) - 1-4 years in DOC
Class 6 Felony - 1 year to 18 months in DOC
Class 6 Felony (Extraordinary Risk) - 1-2 years in DOC
Possible sentencing ranges are determined by how a case is plea bargained or how a judge determines the case.
What is the Possible Sentence Range for Misdemeanors in Denver?
Class - Sentencing
Class 1 Misdemeanor - 6-18 months in the Arapahoe County Jail
Class 1 Misdemeanor (Extraordinary Risk)- 6-24 months in the Denver County Jail
Class 2 Misdemeanor - 3-12 months in the Jefferson County Jail
Class 3 Misdemeanor - 0-6 months in Adams County Jail
Always consult a criminal defense lawyer to discuss possible sentencing ranges.