If you pawn an item in Denver, Adams County, or anywhere else in Colorado, you must swear you are the owner of the item. If you pawn an item that doesn't belong to you, you can face False Information to a Pawnbroker charges. It is a class 6 felony across Colorado to give false information to a pawnbroker.
Definition of False Information to a Pawnbroker in Arapahoe County and Across Colorado
The definition of False Information to a Pawnbroker in Arapahoe County, Jefferson County and across Colorado, C.R.S. 12-56-104(5), is:
“Any customer who knowingly gives false information with respect to the information required by section 12-56-103(1) commits a class 6 felony and shall be punished as provided in section 18-1.3-401, C.R.S.”
Pawning an item that doesn't belong to you can result in criminal charges.
Lawyer in Douglas County for False Information to a Pawnbroker: Information Required for Pawning Your Items
When pawning your items in Castle Rock, Douglas County, or at a pawn shop anywhere else in Colorado, the following information will be recorded by a pawnbroker, according to C.R.S. 12-56-103(1):
3.Your date of birth
4.Your driver's license number or other identification number
5.The date, time and place of the contract for purchase or purchase transaction
6.Accurate and detailed account and description of each item of tangible personal property, including but not limited to any trademark, identification number, serial number, model number, brand name, or other identifying marks on such property.
In addition to the information above, pawnbrokers will obtain a written declaration stating the pawned property is owned by you, or they will attach a power of sale from the partial owner to you, how long you've owned the property, whether you or someone else found the property, and, if the property was found, the details for the finding. The purpose behind this law is to make sure any pawned property that is stolen is returned to the owner. If any stolen items are pawned, there would be written or electronic records available for police to use to track down the thief.
Accused or Charged with False Information to a Pawnbroker in Denver? Call Our Attorneys
If facing charges or accusations of False Information to a Pawnbroker, call the top criminal defense lawyers at O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC right away. Upon a conviction of this charge, you could risk spending up to 18 months in the Colorado Department of Corrections and risk having to pay up to $100,000 in fines. Finding a job or obtaining housing can be more difficult with a felony criminal record. Don't fight any accusations or charges of this crime alone. Call the criminal defense attorneys at the O'Malley Law Office today so we can begin planning your defense.