In Denver, Adams and Jefferson County, Colorado, Perjury occurs whenever someone is accused of lying during an official proceeding (a court proceeding) under an oath required by law, or when someone makes a false statement to a public servant. Across Colorado, Perjury can be charged as either Perjury in the First Degree, C.R.S. 18-8-502, or Perjury in the Second Degree, C.R.S. 18-8-503. If you face charges of Perjury anywhere in Colorado, call a Perjury attorney at O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC immediately.
First Degree Perjury – C.R.S. 18-8-502
Perjury in the First Degree, C.R.S. 18-8-502, is charged in Denver, Douglas County and across Colorado whenever someone, during an official proceeding, makes a false statement that he knows is false, under oath. Perjury in the First Degree is a:
- Class 4 felony, punishable by two to six years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and up to $500,000 in fines.
Second Degree Perjury – C.R.S. 18-8-503
Second Degree Perjury, C.R.S. 18-8-503, is charged when, while in somewhere other than court, a person makes a sworn false statement to a public servant. In Denver, Arapahoe County and across Colorado, Second Degree Perjury is a:
- Class 1 misdemeanor. A class 1 misdemeanor is punishable by 6 to 18 months in the Arapahoe County Jail and up to $5,000 in fines.
Working with a Perjury attorney is indispensable in your criminal case.
Affirmative Defense to Perjury in Colorado: Duress as an Affirmative Defense
Under certain circumstances in Colorado, we can use affirmative defenses. Affirmative defenses are defenses where the defendant must present some credible evidence on that issue. This is unless the state's evidence raises the issue involving the alleged offense. In First and Second Degree Perjury cases, for example, the affirmative defense of Duress may be used. Duress is when a person engages in conduct (lies under oath, for example) at the direction of someone else. This may be because of that person's use or threatened use of unlawful force upon him or another person. The force or threatened force used would also have to cause a person to be unable to resist. There are specific circumstances that must be present for Duress (and other affirmative defenses) to apply when defending criminal charges. Always speak with an experienced Perjury attorney about whether an affirmative defense (such as Duress) may apply in your specific situation.
First and Second Degree Perjury Attorney in Douglas County: Why Hire One?
If you face charges of Perjury in Douglas County or anywhere else in Colorado, call our Douglas County Perjury attorneys today. Our Perjury lawyers will analyze your criminal case to make sure you haven't been overcharged. If you have, we will fight hard to get charges reduced or dismissed. It's important to consult a Perjury attorney who understands the discrepancies between misdemeanor and felony Perjury. Both misdemeanor and felony Perjury convictions can be devastating to your future. You could risk Denver County jail or prison time, and a Perjury conviction can make it harder to keep or find a job. Call a Colorado Perjury lawyer right away if you face charges with Perjury and protect your future.