In a time when the consequences of our failure to teach right and wrong in school are being experienced, citizens in Colorado are looking for answers. Whether it is the robbery of a store or a senseless shooting at a theater, people in Adams and Douglas County should be able to protect themselves. Having a concealed carry permit allows men and women to keep themselves and others safe while waiting for police to arrive on the scene. Opposite viewpoints, are people who ignore the Second Amendment and believe the right to bear arms is dangerous. However, it has been proven that honest citizens who go through the process (see qualifications below) of legally carrying a concealed handgun are rarely involved in criminal conduct. Only the real criminals need to fear an armed citizen. Here at O'Malley and Sawyer, we believe firmly in a person's right to bear arms – one of our practice areas is related to firearm rights and crimes.
"With a single exception, every multiple-victim public shooting in the U.S. in which more than three people have been killed since at least 1950 has taken place where citizens are not allowed to carry their own firearms.” (Source)
Guns save lives in Colorado
The Process of Obtaining a Concealed Carry Permit in Colorado
Repeatedly, it has been proven that handguns save lives in Jefferson County and across the state. Since 2003, Colorado has had legislation in place that details both the qualifications and restrictions when it comes to carrying a concealed weapon. Each person must submit an application and have it approved by their county sheriff. The applicant must meet the following criteria:
Pay a Fee
You must submit a processing fee determined by the sheriff where you live.
You must be able to show proficiency with a handgun by completing a concealed carry class.
You must be able to pass a background check in order to receive your concealed carry permit.
You must be twenty-one years of age or older to get a concealed carry weapons permit.
Be a Resident
You must be a legal resident of the state where you are applying for your permit.
Need help applying for a permit? Contact O'Malley and Sawyer
Concealed Weapon Restrictions
Who is allowed to conceal and carry a weapon is ultimately decided by the sheriff in the county where the application is filed. However, there are some disqualifiers which apply to every individual. If you have any of the following on your record, you will not be given a concealed weapons permit:
You will not be Given a Permit if any of the Following are True:
- You have a restraining order in effect against you.
- You have a perjury conviction.
- You have had two or more alcohol related convictions within the past 10 years.
- Are ineligible to own a firearm under C.R.S. 18-12-108 (prior felony conviction or adjudication).
- Are a constant user of alcohol to the point of impairment(in some cases, an exception is made when a counselor signs a waiver stating that the applicant has been alcohol free for 3 years)
Has Your Concealed Carry Permit Been Denied? You Need a Lawyer
If you feel that you been denied your concealed carry permit, contact the attorneys at O'Malley and Sawyer. We have been assisting residents in Arapahoe and Denver County, and all throughout Colorado, who have been denied a permit or simply want to apply for one. We firmly believe in your right to bear arms. We value the opportunity to assist you in keeping yourself and your family safe by the exercise of your constitutional gun rights.