In Denver, Arapahoe County and every other county in Colorado, firearms and weapons are typically used for self-defense, security, sports or other extracurricular activities. Despite the fact that guns or other weapons are often used for harmless activities, they can still lead to criminal charges if used improperly. A common criminal charge men and women can face if using a weapon improperly is Prohibited Use of Weapons, C.R.S. 18-12-106.
Prohibited Use of Weapons Lawyer in Adams and Douglas County: How You Can Face Charges
You can face Prohibited Use of Weapons charges in Douglas County, Adams County and anywhere else in Colorado whenever you:
1.Knowingly and unlawfully aim a firearm at another person;
2.Recklessly or with criminal negligence discharge a firearm or shoot a bow and arrow;
3.Knowingly set a loaded gun, trap or device designed to cause an explosion upon being tripped or approached and leave it unattended by a competent person immediately present;
4.Have in your possession a firearm while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or of a controlled substance;
5.Knowingly aim, swing, or throw a throwing star or nunchaku at another person.
We often see these charges filed whenever someone consumes alcohol and has a pistol, handgun or other weapon in their possession. They don't need to fire the gun to face charges. Merely possessing the weapon while under the influence is enough to file charges. You cannot afford to fight any Prohibited Use of Weapons charges alone. Always involve an experienced firearms lawyer to help protect your gun rights if facing any charges or accusations of Prohibited Use of Weapons.
Consequences of Prohibited Use of Weapons Conviction in Jefferson County, Colorado
Class 2 Misdemeanor
Prohibited Use of Weapons is a class 2 misdemeanor.
3-12 Month Jail Sentence
A class 2 misdemeanor can result in a 3 to 12 month jail sentence.
In Golden, Lakewood, Jefferson County and across Colorado, Prohibited Use of Weapons is a class 2 misdemeanor. A class 2 misdemeanor can result in a jail sentence from three to twelve months in the Jefferson County Jail. In some cases, you can also face Reckless Endangerment charges in addition to the Prohibited Use of Weapons charges. Reckless Endangerment occurs whenever someone recklessly engages in conduct that creates a risk of serious bodily injury to another person. If you use your weapon in such a way as to create a risk of injury to others, you can also face Reckless Endangerment charges.
Contact an experienced attorney if facing charges of Prohibited Use of Weapons.
Illegal Discharge of a Firearm Charges in Arapahoe County for More Extreme Cases
In more extreme cases involving a firearm or other weapon, you can face Illegal Discharge of a Firearm charges in Glendale, Arapahoe County and everywhere else in Colorado. Illegal Discharge of a Firearm charges occur whenever a person knowingly or recklessly discharges a firearm into any dwelling, building or occupied structure, or into any motor vehicle occupied by any person. Unlike Prohibited Use of Weapons, Illegal Discharge of a Firearm is a class 5 felony. A conviction of this charge can result in up to 3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections.
Charged with Prohibited Use of Weapons in Denver? Call Our Gun Rights Lawyers
If you are facing charges of Prohibited Use of Weapons in Denver, Highlands Ranch, or Aurora, Colorado, contact our firearm attorneys immediately. Our firearms lawyers believe in the Second Amendment and your right to bear arms. We know the importance of fighting to defend that right. It's imperative you have a seasoned attorney fighting hard for your Second Amendment rights in court. Call our office today to set up a free initial consultation.
Prohibited Use of Weapons Colorado Statute, C.R.S. 18-12-106
(1) A person commits a class 2 misdemeanor if:
(a) He knowingly and unlawfully aims a firearm at another person; or
(b) Recklessly or with criminal negligence he discharges a firearm or shoots a bow and arrow; or
(c) He knowingly sets a loaded gun, trap, or device designed to cause an explosion upon being tripped or approached, and leaves it unattended by a competent person immediately present; or
(d) The person has in his or her possession a firearm while the person is under the influence of intoxicating liquor or of a controlled substance, as defined in section 18-18-102 (5). Possession of a permit issued under section 18-12-105.1, as it existed prior to its repeal, or possession of a permit or a temporary emergency permit issued pursuant to part 2 of this article is no defense to a violation of this subsection (1).
(e) He knowingly aims, swings, or throws a throwing star or nunchaku as defined in this paragraph (e) at another person, or he knowingly possesses a throwing star or nunchaku in a public place except for the purpose of presenting an authorized public demonstration or exhibition or pursuant to instruction in conjunction with an organized school or class. When transporting throwing stars or nunchaku for a public demonstration or exhibition or for a school or class, they shall be transported in a closed, nonaccessible container. For purposes of this paragraph (e), “nunchaku” means an instrument consisting of two sticks, clubs, bars, or rods to be used as handles, connected by a rope, cord, wire, or chain, which is in the design of a weapon used in connection with the practice of a system of self-defense, and “throwing star” means a disk having sharp radiating points or any disk-shaped bladed object which is hand-held and thrown and which is in the design of a weapon used in connection with the practice of a system of self-defense.