Aperson can be accused of Reckless Driving in Colorado if they are thought to be driving in a way that creates an unsafe environment for property or other people, whether purposefully or accidentally. Because a Reckless Driving conviction requires a higher level of negligence than Careless Driving, people who are convicted of Reckless Driving can also be guilty of Careless Driving. Careless Driving is characterized by driving in a way that shows little concern for the road, the conditions of the road, or other drivers and pedestrians. Reckless Driving is different than Careless Driving because the driver is convicted for having disregard for the safety of property and other people, as well as for the road.
If you've been charged with Reckless Driving, contact a defense lawyer immediately.
What is the Sentence for Reckless Driving in Colorado?
Reckless Driving is a Class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense in Arapahoe, El Paso, and Douglas County. Two charges of Reckless Driving could result in a fine ranging from $50 to $1,000, and possibly time served in a county jail between 10 days and 6 months.
Reckless Driving Charged for Scooters and Bicycles as Well
Most people think that Reckless Driving in Denver, Adams, and Jefferson County happens only in motor vehicles, but a person can be convicted of the crime on a low-power scooter, bicycle, or electrical-assisted bicycle.
An experienced lawyer will fight to protect your future.
Why You Need a Lawyer for Reckless Driving Charges
Because companies are becoming more concerned with changing insurance rates for workers who use company vehicles, hiring someone convicted of Reckless Driving could be a potential liability. This means a Reckless Driving conviction could prevent job opportunities in the future. Don't allow your future to be jeopardized by a Reckless Driving conviction. If you have received a ticket or a summons for this traffic offense, don't hesitate to contact an outstanding criminal defense lawyer to fight on your behalf and protect your driver's license and future.
Colorado Reckless Driving Statute – 42-4-1401
“A person who drives a motor vehicle, bicycle, electrical assisted bicycle, or low-power scooter in such a manner as to indicate either a wanton or a willful disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving.”