Any person who is caught by law enforcement trading sexual acts for money or things of value can be charged with Prostitution in Colorado. Charged as a class 3 misdemeanor, if you are convicted of Prostitution in Denver, you will be facing up to 6 months in the county jail and/or and fine between $50 – $750.
Definition of Prostitution in Adams County
C.R.S. 18-7-201 – Prostitution Prohibited:
(1) Any person who performs or offers or agrees to perform any act of sexual intercourse, fellatio, cunnilingus, masturbation, or anal intercourse with any person not his spouse in exchange for money or other thing of value commits prostitution.
(2) (a) “Fellatio”, as used in this section, means any act of oral stimulation of the penis.
(b) “Cunnilingus”, as used in this section, means any act of oral stimulation of the vulva or clitoris.
(c) “Masturbation”, as used in this section, means stimulation of the genital organs by manual or other bodily contact exclusive of sexual intercourse.
(d) “Anal intercourse”, as used in this section, means contact between human beings of the genital organs of one and the anus of another.
Arapahoe County Penalties for Prostitution
While a class 3 misdemeanor is considered the “least serious” misdemeanors, it is not to be taken lightly. Besides 6 months in jail and/or s $50-$750 fine, Prostitution can be an embarrassing and damaging charge. Potential employers who see “Prostitution” on you criminal record are going to be biased and think twice before hiring you. A landlord who runs a criminal background check will be prejudice and may deny your housing application.
Is Prostitution a Sex Offense in Douglas County?
Surprisingly, Prostitution is not considered a sex offense in Colorado, so you are not required to register as a sex offender or undergo sex offender treatment. However, if the prostitute is a minor (person under the age of 18) it will be considered a sex offense. Patronizing a Prostituted Child is a serious sex offense and is subject to indeterminate sentencing. This means that while the crime has a minimum sentence of 4 years as a class 3 felony, there is no maximum, or guarantee that you will ever be released if convicted. You could spend the rest of your life in prison while awaiting Sex Offender Treatment.
Jefferson County Lawyer for Prostitution Charges
If you are facing charges for Prostitution in Jefferson County, or anywhere in Colorado, it is important to have an experienced criminal defense lawyer fighting your case. If you were charged as a result of a police sting, Entrapment can be a valid defense option. Whatever the situation, make sure to exercise your right to remain silent, and politely decline speaking with police. Instead, contact the experienced Prostitution lawyers at O'Malley and Sawyer today to set up a jail visit or to schedule a free initial consultation. Call us at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.