Purposely or accidentally setting fires is charged as Arson in Denver, Aurora, and Castle Rock. The intent behind the fire along with the type of property determines what level of Arson is charged. A woman is facing First Degree Arson charged for setting fire as an act of revenge. Apparently the woman was a scorned lover, as her ‘male companion' left her his house to go be with another woman. And he wasn't sneaky about it either – he told her that was why he was leaving. The woman called him and told him to come back or else. Well, I guess he didn't return in a timely matter, as his house was later set ablaze. The woman was arrested after telling the man that he knew why she did it.
Adams County Arson Lawyer: Definition of First Degree Arson in Jefferson County
The Adams and Jefferson County, Colorado law definition of First Degree Arson – C.R.S. 18-4-102 – is:
“A person who knowingly sets fire to, burns, causes to be burned, or by the use of any explosive damages or destroys, or causes to be damaged or destroyed, any building or occupied structure of another without his consent commits first degree arson.”
The two main criteria for 1st Degree Arson are:
- Knowingly setting fire or causing explosion (intent); and
- Causing damage or destruction to a building or occupied structure of another.
Because the woman set her lover's house (a building not belonging to her) on fire after threatening him, she is charged with this crime.
Sentence for 1st Degree Arson in Arapahoe and Douglas County
In Douglas and Arapahoe County, 1st Degree Arson is a class 3 felony, punishable by 4 to 12 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections. If the allegation involves the use of explosives, then the First Degree Arson is charged as a crime of violence, which increases the penalty to 8 to 24 years in prison. The reasoning behind the steep penalties involved in the type of crime is likely because there is a higher risk of a person being injured during a building fire. There is also restitution involved with Arson cases, and it is usually really high because the damage caused by fire is usually extensive.
Get Help Now
If you or someone you love has been charged with Arson, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense attorneys from Sawyer Legal Group at 303-830-0880 today. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Source: Pexels-Pixabay
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment