2nd degree assault in Denver involves purposefully hurting someone in a way that causes injury. Injuries specific to this degree of assault are moderate and can include things like cuts, scratches, and bruises. This charge often follows an assault using a deadly weapon. Additionally, acts of blocking someone's air pathway by suffocating / strangling them or intentionally drugging another apply as well. With the broad range of ways a person could face allegations of second-degree assault in Denver, Cherry Creek, or Park Hill, seeking an experienced criminal lawyer is crucial. Below we discuss 2nd degree assault in greater detail and ways we can help those facing charges.
Denver 2nd Degree Assault Law
Denver's 2nd degree assault law prohibits intentionally causing injury to another. CRS 18-3-203 addresses the specific elements of second-degree assault throughout Colorado. Someone commits this offense in Denver, Arapahoe, or Adams County if they:
- with a deadly weapon, cause an injury or recklessly cause a serious injury,
- intentionally hurt or use force against a police officer, firefighter, EMT, prison / jail employee, or court employee,
- purposefully cause someone to suffer a physical or mental impairment,
- or intentionally suffocate or strangle someone
The severity of the injury and what caused it can make all the difference when it comes to assault charges. When bones are fractured or broken, serious burns result, or there's a risk of permanent disfigurement or death, assault can elevate to first-degree. Deadly weapons include a wide range of items from firearms and knives to a baseball bat or your fists.
How Bad is 2nd Degree Assault in Denver?
While each assault case in Colorado is different, second-degree assault is often a class 4 felony. This creates for a sentencing range of 2 - 6 years in prison and a minimum fine of $2,000 for a conviction. From here, penalties can fluctuate based on specific facts of the case. If the alleged victim did something especially provoking, the penalties can sometimes be reduced. However, felony convictions entail other penalties in the form of difficulties passing background checks, losing professional licenses, and preventing the ability to rent certain housing. Firearm ownership and possession is off the table as well in these situations.
Best Assault Lawyer in Denver
Finding the best assault lawyer in Denver, Arapahoe, and Adams County is vital when allegations of this magnitude exist. Defendants need strategic, persistent representation aimed at the best possible outcome. We have decades of combined experience navigating assault charges and our reviews speak for themselves. Perhaps you were acting in self-defense, defense of another, or there was a lack of intent. Nonetheless, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for people facing assault allegations in Denver, Thornton, Westminster, and Aurora.
Don't talk to the police about assault accusations - talk to us. O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC 303-830-0880
Photo by Quinn Buffing