2nd degree burglary in Thornton, Commerce City, and Brighton doesn't just involve break-ins or unlawful entry. Going inside a location with permission but remaining to steal or damage something can also lead to this specific charge throughout Adams County, Colorado. Additionally, the intended crime doesn't have to be theft or criminal mischief. Other crimes (other than trespassing) against another person or their property apply as well. If you or someone you know is being accused of burglary in Colorado, exercise your right to remain silent and contact our strategic criminal defense attorneys.
What Does Colorado's 2nd Degree Burglary Law Prohibit?
Burglary laws in Adams, Denver, and Arapahoe County prohibit knowingly entering or unlawfully remaining on another's property intending to commit a crime there. CRS 18-4-203 is the criminal code that specifically addresses second-degree burglary in Colorado. Charges can follow if law enforcement believes you:
- knowingly broke into, entered unlawfully, or remained unlawfully after a lawful or unlawful entry,
- a building or occupied structure,
- with the intent to commit a crime against someone or property
It is important to note that the intent to commit a crime in the building or occupied structure must have been formed prior to entry for burglary charges to apply. If someone decides they'll damage property, assault another person, or steal goods at some point after entering the location they haven't committed burglary.
Will You Go to Prison for Second-Degree Burglary in Adams County?
While each burglary case in Colorado is different, it is a felony offense. Second-degree burglary is at minimum a class 4 felony. A conviction can lead to:
- a prison sentence of 2 - 6 years,
- 3 years of parole,
- fines of $2K - $500K
However, when burglary occurs in a dwelling (house, apartment, garage, trailer, condo, etc) or the target is controlled substances, the charge escalates to a class 3 felony. Defendants in these cases face a prison sentence of 4 - 12 years, 5 years of parole, and higher potential fines. Beyond the criminal penalties, those with a felony on their record consistently face hurdles finding / maintaining employment and are often automatically disqualified on rental applications for housing.
Adams County Lawyer for Burglary Charges
Burglary allegations are serious and contacting a defense attorney early on to discuss your case can be very beneficial. Just because you've been charged doesn't mean you're guilty. Maybe you were lawfully on the property, it wasn't a dwelling, or the intent to commit an offense wasn't formed before entering the location.
Our criminal lawyers have decades of combined experience fighting felony property crimes throughout Colorado and our results speak for themselves. Contact our office today for a free, confidential consultation. We will carefully evaluate your case, outline a defense strategy, and suggest next steps. Our same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans make skilled representation a reality for the accused.
Talk to us about burglary charges - not the police. 303-830-0880
Photo by Ash B
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment