Second degree criminal trespass in Adams County, Colorado involves unlawful entry to specific locations. Fenced property, building common areas, and motor vehicles often apply to this degree of trespassing. Penalties can include jail time, fines, and even a revoked driver's license if the offense involves entering another's car without permission. It is wise to consult an experienced trespass attorney if you're being accused of unlawful entry in Thornton, Commerce City, or Brighton. Below we discuss 2nd degree trespassing in further detail and how we can help those facing charges.
Adams County 2nd Degree Trespassing Law
Adams County's second-degree criminal trespass law prohibits entering another's enclosed property, vehicle, or a building's common area without permission. CRS 18-4-503 addresses the specifics of this law throughout Colorado. You commit 2nd degree trespass in Thornton, Northglenn, or Commerce City if you:
- unlawfully enter or remain in or on someone's enclosed property,
- the common area of a hotel, motel, condo, or apartment building,
- or another's motor vehicle
It is important to note that second-degree trespassing charges can result when someone hops a fence, goes beyond an enclosure meant to keep out intruders, or even enters a person's truck bed without permission. Additionally, the type of property you trespass upon has significant implications when it comes to ramifications.
How Bad is Second Degree Trespassing in Colorado?
Trespassing in the second degree is at minimum a class 3 misdemeanor in CO. A conviction can lead to as many as 6 months in county jail and a maximum fine of $750. However, trespassing on fenced or enclosed land that is a ranch or farm elevates the crime to a class 2 misdemeanor. A year in county jail and increased fines are possible in these scenarios.
If your 2nd degree trespass case involves unlawfully entering another person's motor vehicle, the DMV often revokes your driver's license for a year as well.
Adams County Trespass Attorney
We highly recommend that anyone contacted by police regarding trespassing exercise their right to remain silent. Next, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. Perhaps you had permission to be on the property, you didn't know you were trespassing, or the location wasn't a common area. We have decades of combined experience fighting trespassing charges on behalf of our clients and are prepared to form a strong defense to the charges in your case. Our competitive fees and flexible payment plans make strategic representation a reality in these uncertain times.
If you or someone you know has been charged with trespassing in Colorado, be smart. Contact the persisting criminal lawyers at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-830-0880. Don't talk to the police - talk to us.
Photo by Jessica Da Rosa
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment