When you are hungry and choose to get some fast food in Denver, Littleton, or Highlands Ranch, you expect that the food you pay for is fresh. It can be frustrating when you open the bag and the food is not so fresh. But is the anger you feel worth getting arrested for? It was for one woman. Apparently infuriated by the stale french fries she received, she began to argue with the Wendy's employee in the drive thru window. She then grabbed her mace and sprayed multiple employees. If she had done this at a Denver Wendy's, she would likely be facing Third Degree Assault charges.
Facing Third Degree Assault charges?Get Help Now!
Arapahoe County Assault in the Third Degree Attorney: What is the Definition of 3rd Degree Assault in Douglas County?
The Arapahoe County and Douglas County, Colorado law definition of Assault in the Third Degree – C.R.S. 18-3-204 – is:
“A person commits the crime of assault in the third degree if:
(a) The person knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another person or with criminal negligence the person causes bodily injury to another person by means of a deadly weapon;
(b) The person, with intent to harass, annoy, threaten, or alarm another person whom the actor knows or reasonably should know to be a peace officer, a firefighter, an emergency medical care provider, or an emergency medical service provider, causes the other person to come into contact with blood, seminal fluid, urine, feces, saliva, mucus, vomit, or toxic, caustic, or hazardous material by any means, including throwing, tossing, or expelling the fluid or material.”
By spraying the employees with pepper spray, the woman knowingly caused bodily injury. Any pain is considered bodily injury under Colorado law, which is why this crime is so easy to charge, especially in Domestic Violence situations.
Jefferson County Sentence for Third Degree Assault: What is the Penalty for 3rd Degree Assault in Adams County?
Third Degree Assault is a class 1 extraordinary risk misdemeanor. This means a charge for this crime is subject to an extended sentencing range. Instead of the presumptive range of 6 to 18 months in the Jefferson County Jail, Third Degree Assault is punishable by 6 to 24 months in the Adams County Jail. According to Colorado law, crimes that present an extraordinary risk of harm to society are subject to an increased maximum sentence.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one has been arrested or charged with Third Degree Assault, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best Assault defense attorneys from the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880 today. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Source: Pixabay-WikimediaImages