3rd degree assault in Adams County, Colorado involves knowingly or recklessly causing another's bodily injury. While this charge applies when the injuries aren't considered serious, penalties are still significant and can include many months in county jail and thousands in fines. Someone can also commit assault in the third-degree using a deadly weapon with criminal negligence that leads to injury. Whether you're facing these allegations in Thornton, Brighton, or Northglenn, strategic representation is a must. Below we discuss third-degree assault in more detail and how our Adams County criminal defense attorneys can help those facing charges.
Adams County 3rd Degree Assault Law
Adams County's 3rd degree assault law prohibits knowingly or recklessly inflicting bodily injury on another person. CRS 18-3-204 is the criminal code that addresses third-degree assault throughout Colorado. You commit this offense in Commerce City or Thornton if you:
- knowingly or recklessly,
- cause bodily injury to another person,
- OR with criminal negligence do so using a deadly weapon
3rd degree assaults can happen anywhere, including the workplace, at home, and even while driving. Causing bruises, cuts, and scratches during a fight or even inflicting pain in general can lead to an assault charge. While injury can sometimes occur accidentally, the presence of terms like knowingly, recklessly, and with criminal negligence cover a lot of ground when it comes to intent and behavior.
How Serious is 3rd Degree Assault in Adams County?
While this is the least severe degree of assault in Colorado, the offense carries heavy penalties. As an extraordinary risk crime, a conviction of assault in the third-degree can lead to:
- a county jail sentence of 6 - 24 months,
- fines of $500 - $5,000
However, if you knowingly or recklessly injure a current or former significant other, domestic violence enhancements can apply. A mandatory arrest and restrictive protection order further complicate the situation and can prevent defendants from being around their families or even returning home for a period of time.
Top Denver Lawyer for 3rd Degree Assault
Assault allegations in Adams, Denver, or Arapahoe County can derail your future. However, just because you've been charged doesn't mean you're guilty. Our experienced criminal lawyers have decades of combined experience fighting assault accusations and are prepared for your unique case.
Perhaps you were acting in self-defense, defense of another, or the alleged victim has an ulterior motive behind their false claims. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. We will thoroughly analyze your situation and suggest next steps. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make obtaining a skilled defense attorney a reality in times of uncertainty.
Don't talk to police about assault allegations - talk to us. O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC 303-830-0880
Photo by cottonbro