3rd degree criminal trespass in Thornton, Brighton, and Northglenn is a crime that concerns entering or remaining in or on someone's property without permission. These cases usually involve locations that aren't fenced or enclosed in some way. It isn't difficult to commit this crime and simple acts of wandering can become legally problematic. Any offense related to another's property is serious and experienced representation is a must. Consult one of our strategic criminal lawyers if you or someone you know is being accused of trespassing in Adams, Boulder, or Weld County.
Adams County 3rd Degree Trespassing Law
Adams County's third-degree trespassing law prohibits going on another's property without authorization. CRS 18-4-504 is the criminal code that addresses trespassing in the 3rd degree throughout Colorado. You commit this crime in Thornton, Commerce City, or Brighton if you:
- enter or remain unlawfully,
- in or on the premises of another
A fence or enclosure makes all the difference when it comes to trespassing. These acts amplify to 2nd degree criminal trespass when you cross through or over a fence or barrier designed to deter intruders.
Going in a private park to use the swings after hours or walking through someone's ranch or farm without permission are actions that can lead to 3rd degree trespass charges.
How Bad is 3rd Degree Criminal Trespass in Adams County?
It is important to understand that each trespassing case in CO is different. Penalties won't always look the same. Specifically, 3rd degree trespassing can range from a class 1 petty offense to a class 5 felony. In situations where someone entered land or property unlawfully and it wasn't agricultural, a class 1 petty offense applies. A conviction can lead to:
- a county jail sentence of up to 6 months,
- a maximum fine of $500
If you unlawfully enter or remain on a ranch or farm, a class 3 misdemeanor applies. This can also result in up to 180 days in county jail and a maximum fine of $750. However, if you trespass on agricultural land intending to commit a felony, a class 5 felony applies. Penalties in these more serious cases can include:
- a prison sentence of 1 - 3 years,
- fines of $1K - $100K
Strategic Trespassing Lawyer
When it comes to trespassing allegations in Colorado, a skilled criminal lawyer by your side is essential. Hiring an attorney early on has many benefits and often leads to a better outcome in your case. We have decades of combined experience successfully navigating trespassing charges and our reviews speak for themselves. Perhaps you had permission to be on the property, you had no idea you were trespassing, or the property wasn't agricultural land. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make obtaining experienced defense a reality.
Don't talk to police about trespassing accusations - talk to us. Sawyer Legal Group, LLC 303-830-0880
Photo by Jon Tyson
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment