3rd degree misdemeanor assault in Colorado is a crime that many people deal with. Colorado law defines an assault as a person ‘knowingly' or ‘recklessly' causing bodily injury to another person. Knowingly basically means that you knew what you were doing when you did it. Recklessly means that you thought about the consequences but didn't really care about them. When a person is charged with 3rd degree misdemeanor assault, they will be facing up to 2 years in jail and up to a $5,000.00 fine. However, one of the worst consequences for many people isn't the jail or potential fine. Instead, an assault associated with domestic violence can permanently bar a person from owning and possessing firearms.
Charged with Domestic Violence and Third Degree Misdemeanor Assault in Jefferson County, Colorado
Assault as a 3rd degree misdemeanor in Jefferson County, Colorado has many potential consequences, as outlined above. However, only those third degree assault charges that constitute an act of domestic violence will affect your right to keep and bear guns. So, what causes an assault to become domestic violence? It all depends on who the named victim is. Colorado law defines domestic violence as a criminal act against someone who you have had an intimate relationship. Thus, if you are convicted of assault for punching some guy in a bar fight, you should still be able to purchase firearms. However, if you are convicted of hitting your wife, then you will most likely lose your ability to possess guns.
How do I Defend Myself Against False Charges of Assault?
Thankfully, there are many ways to successfully defend you from assault charges in Colorado. First, the most common defense that we can use is self-defense. Self-defense is essentially when someone else starts the fight with you and you hurt another person to protect yourself or a third party. Second, claiming that the alleged act simply did not occur can also defend 3rd degree misdemeanor charges. For example, lets say your husband claims you scratched him. However, he has no marks or scratches that support his assertions. This huge lack of evidence can be used to show that he is lying about the allegation. Lastly, when a couple decides to divorce, assault charges are often alleged. Divorce lawyers sometimes act unethically and tell their clients to make allegations against the other spouse in order to help their case. This is absolutely wrong and despicable, but it happens routinely.
Do I need an Attorney for 3rd Degree Misdemeanor Assault in Denver?
Facing charges of 3rd degree misdemeanor assault in Denver alone is a bad choice. The lawyers for the government don't take it easier on you when you are not represented. As criminal defense attorneys, we have helped hundreds of people facing criminal charges. We know what is your best defense. Therefore, we can get you the best outcome possible.
So, if you have been charged with assault in Denver, call Sawyer Legal Group at 303-830-0880 to speak immediately with one of our attorneys. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pixabay-PublicDomainPictures
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment