For many reasons, owning a gun is exciting. Depending on where you live, guns can be used for hunting and sporting purposes, which can become shared family hobbies. In some cases, younger members of a family obtain handguns because they're used to using them with their families. Yet, under certain circumstances in Adams and Jefferson County, criminal charges could be filed if a juvenile is found with a gun in his or her possession. For one 17-year-old juvenile, he faces charges after being found with three guns in his car when pulled over by police. The juvenile was also found with alcohol and fireworks in his car. If this young man was found with firearms in his possession in Colorado, he could face charges of Possession of a Handgun by a Juvenile.
What is Possession of a Handgun by a Juvenile in Denver?
The definition of Possession of a Handgun by a Juvenile, C.R.S. 18-12-108.5, is when any juvenile under the age of eighteen possesses a handgun. There are many circumstances defined under the legal definition of Possession of a Handgun by a Juvenile that allow a juvenile to possess a handgun. Unfortunately, the situation for the 17-year-old did not qualify because he was in his car. Juvenile handgun possession is normally a class 2 misdemeanor in Denver, but this crime quickly elevates to a class 5 felony for a second or subsequent offense. Juvenile crimes are treated differently than crimes committed by adults. When a juvenile commits a crime, he or she is prosecuted as a delinquent in a juvenile court. Read more about how juvenile crimes are handled across Colorado.
Is your child facing handgun possession charges?Get Help Now!
Police Look for Reasons to Charge You with a Crime in Colorado
The 17-year-old was found with fireworks and alcohol in his car in addition to the handguns, which may suggest that he wanted to have a good time with his friends or family. Unfortunately, these items led to additional criminal charges for the juvenile. Police often look for evidence to use against people when they're facing charges for a crime. This is why it's vital for your child to exercise the right to remain silent if confronted by police. If your child is facing charges of juvenile handgun possession, you should always consult with an expert criminal defense attorney as quickly as possible.
Is Your Child Facing Juvenile Handgun Possession Charges? You Need an Expert Attorney in Denver
An expert criminal defense lawyer will fight hard for your child's future.Across Colorado, penalties of juvenile handgun possession charges can be harsh and restricting for your child. Among additional consequences, if your child is convicted of a felony charge of Possession of a Handgun by a Juvenile, he or she may not be able to own a firearm for the rest of his or her life. This could be an extreme outcome, especially if he or she had no poor intentions of possessing a handgun in the first place. Contact an aggressive criminal defense lawyer at the O'Malley Law Office today if your child's future is at stake. We will fight hard to protect your child's rights.
Get Help Now
If your child is facing charges of Juvenile Possession of a Handgun in El Paso or Denver County, be smart, advise them to exercise the right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office for a free consultation at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your child's future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – PDPics
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment