Accidents involving damage in Boulder, Broomfield, and Westminster require drivers to complete specific tasks immediately following the collision. However, people aren't often in the best frame of mind after a car accident. Whether you panic and drive away or purposefully speed off to avoid conflict, hit and run charges can follow for leaving the scene. Even if you don't think you hit anything, caused damage, or hurt anyone, failing to remain at the scene (or leave a note in some circumstances) can be costly. If you've been accused of leaving the scene of an accident involving damage or injury, contact a strategic hit and run lawyer as soon as you can.
Accidents Involving Property Damage or an Unoccupied Vehicle
When a driver hits an unoccupied car or property, they can face hit and run penalties. CRS 42-4-1602 defines the specific duties each driver must complete to avoid criminal consequences. Charges can follow if law enforcement believes you:
- failed to stop after the collision,
- and either locate or notify the owner / operator of the vehicle / property,
- or securely attach a note in a noticeable location stating your name, address, and vehicle registration number
If you collide with an occupied vehicle, you must remain at the scene unless you leave to report the accident to police or are injured needing immediate medical attention. Additionally, providing reasonable assistance to anyone that is injured is a requirement as well.
Will You Go to Jail for Leaving the Scene in Boulder?
Penalties for hit and run crimes in Colorado depend on damage, whether someone was in the other car, and any injuries that occurred. Fleeing the scene after hitting an unoccupied vehicle or causing property damage is a class 2 traffic misdemeanor. A conviction can result in:
- a county jail sentence of 10 - 90 days,
- fines of $150 - $300,
- points added to your driving record
If the hit and run involves injury, the offense escalates to either a class 1 misdemeanor (non-serious injury) or a class 4 felony (serious injury).
Westminster Hit and Run Attorney
The statute of limitations in Colorado for misdemeanor hit and run is one year after the accident. Charges may come about well after the collision itself. Protect yourself by exercising your right to remain silent if police start asking questions. Next, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. We will carefully analyze your unique case and recommend next steps in your defense. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make securing skilled representation a reality for defendants in Boulder, Westminster, Broomfield, Arvada, and throughout Colorado.
Don't Talk to Police About Hit and Run Accusations - Talk to Us. 303-830-0880
Photo by Sindre Strom