Contact Us to Request a Free Consultation 303-830-0880

Blog

Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft Denver Attorney | Two Adults Steal Car

Posted by Terry O'Malley | Jun 13, 2016 | 0 Comments

According to the news, two 18-year-old's are facing charges after allegedly stealing a man's car. The victim told police his car was parked in front of his home when it was stolen. The two boys later admitted to stealing the vehicle after police found them driving it. In Denver, Montrose County and every other area of Colorado, they could be charged with Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft.

Facing Motor Vehicle Theft charges?

Get Help Now!

Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft in the First Degree in Douglas County, Colorado

In Douglas County, Arapahoe County and across Colorado, Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft in the 1st Degree, C.R.S. 18-4-409, is charged whenever a person knowingly obtains or exercises control over the motor vehicle of another without authorization or by threat or deception and:

  • Retains possession or control of the motor vehicle for more than twenty-four hours; or
  • Attempts to alter or disguise or alters or disguises the appearance of the motor vehicle; or
  • Attempts to alter or remove or alters or removes the vehicle identification number; or
  • Uses the motor vehicle in the commission of a crime other than a traffic offense; or
  • Causes five hundred dollars or more property damage, including but not limited to property damage to the motor vehicle involved, in the course of obtaining control over or in the exercise of control of the motor vehicle; or
  • Causes bodily injury to another person while he or she is in the exercise of control of the motor vehicle; or
  • Removes the motor vehicle from this state for a period of time in excess of twelve hours; or
  • Unlawfully attaches or otherwise displays in or upon the motor vehicle license plates other than those officially issued for the motor vehicle.

In addition to having obtained or exercised control over the motor vehicle without authorization, if the boys also committed any of the following acts listed in part (a) through (h) of C.R.S. 18-4-409, they could be charged with Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft in the 1st Degree. If none of those factors were present, they could be charged with Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft in the Second Degree, C.R.S. 18-4-409(4).

Sentence in Jefferson County for Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft – 1st and 2nd Degree

In Jefferson County, Adams County and everywhere else in Colorado, Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft in the First Degree and Second Degree can be sentenced as follows:

Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft in the 1st Degree

Class of Felony Value of Motor Vehicle Penalty Class 5 Felony If the value of the car or cars involved is less than $20,000 1-3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections Class 4 Felony If the value of the car or cars is $20,000 or more but less than $100,000 2-6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections Class 3 Felony If the value of the car or cars involved is more than $100,000 or if the defendant has twice been previously convicted or adjudicated of motor vehicle theft charges 4-12 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections

Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft in the 2nd Degree

Class of Felony Value of Motor Vehicle Penalty Class 5 Felony If the value of the car or cars involved is $20,000 or more 1-3 years in DOC Class 6 Felony If the value of the motor vehicle or vehicles involved is $1,000 or more but less than $20,000 1 year to 18 months in DOC Class 1 Misdemeanor If the value of the motor vehicle or vehicles involved is less than $1,000 6-18 months in a county jail

Charged with Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft in Colorado? Call Our Office Today

If you've been arrested or charged with Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft in Denver, Highlands Ranch, Englewood or anywhere else in Colorado, act quickly and call the experienced criminal defense attorneys at the O'Malley Law Office right away. In addition to possible jail or prison time, a criminal record could hinder your chances of finding or keeping a job. Call the best theft attorneys at the O'Malley Law Office today if facing any charges or accusations of Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft anywhere in Colorado.

Get Help Now

If you or a loved one is facing charges of Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft in Colorado, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense attorneys at the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation

Image Credit: Pixabay – OpenClipartVectors

About the Author

Terry O'Malley

Get Help Now! Request a Free Consultation Meet Criminal Defense Attorney Terry O'Malley If you have been charged with a crime, you are probably dealing with strong emotions about your upcoming court appearance. You are struggling with knowing how to choose a trustworthy lawyer to represent you...

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Get Help Now

If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges in the Denver area, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future. Request a Free Consultation

Menu