Aggravated motor vehicle theft in Denver is a crime that involves taking control of another person's car without permission. Doing so by threat or deception is also unlawful throughout Denver, Aurora, and Lakewood. Both adults and juveniles can find themselves charged with motor vehicle theft for even borrowing a car, truck, or van without permission from the owner. Acts of trying to alter or disguise the vehicle can significantly amplify the consequences. If you or someone you know has been accused of aggravated motor vehicle theft, hiring an experienced criminal defense attorney should be your next step.
Denver Motor Vehicle Theft Laws
Denver's motor vehicle theft laws prohibit stealing a car from another person or taking a company's vehicle. CRS 18-4-409 defines the specific elements of auto theft in Denver, Arapahoe, and Jefferson County. You commit 2nd degree motor vehicle theft if you:
- knowingly obtain or exercise control,
- over another person's motor vehicle,
- without authorization,
- or by threat or deception
Valets, parking attendants, and teenagers can commit this offense with a few missteps. Additionally, if any of the factors below apply, the situation increases to 1st degree motor vehicle theft:
- keeping the car for 24+ hours,
- trying to disguise or alter the car's appearance,
- tinkering with the VIN,
- using the vehicle to commit another offense (other than a traffic crime),
- causing $500+ of damage to property or the car itself,
- causing bodily injury to someone,
- taking the car out of Colorado for more than 12 hours,
- or using license plates not specifically issued to that vehicle
How Serious is Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft in Colorado?
Each auto theft case is different. Penalties for a conviction won't always look the same. Consequences often depend on the value of the vehicle taken and a defendant's prior criminal history. Motor vehicle theft is often a felony, possibly resulting in:
- a prison sentence of 1 - 12 years,
- fines of $1,000 - $750,000,
- mandatory parole
If none of the aggravating factors above apply and the stolen car is worth less than $1,000, a class 1 misdemeanor applies. This can mean up to 18 months in county jail and maximum fine of $5,000. Furthermore, any aggravated motor vehicle theft conviction revokes a defendant's driver's license for a year or more.
Denver's Best Motor Vehicle Theft Lawyer
With penalties of this magnitude looming, hiring Denver's best motor vehicle theft lawyer is crucial to your future. We have decades of combined experience with complex theft cases and are prepared for your unique case. Our reviews stand alone. Perhaps you had permission to take the car, you're being falsely accused, or there was police misconduct. That said, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make skilled, proven representation a reality in these uncertain times.
Don't talk to the police about motor vehicle theft allegations - talk to us. Sawyer Legal Group, LLC 303-830-0880
Photo by Fabian Petersen
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment