Aggravated Robbery is a crime in Denver, and throughout Colorado, that involves both the act of taking something of value from another, coupled with the use or threat of a deadly weapon. A woman was recently arrested on suspicion of aggravated robbery in Lone Tree dating back to a parking lot shooting incident in late February. She is the second suspect in connection to the officer-involved shooting. Consequences for conviction of aggravated robbery are particularly severe, demanding expert defense from an experienced aggravated robbery attorney.
What is Aggravated Robbery in Denver?
Under C.R.S. 18-4-302, someone commits aggravated robbery when they perform a robbery AND:
- utilize a weapon with intent to kill, maim, or wound the person being robbed
- knowingly wound or strike someone with a deadly weapon
- uses threats, force, or intimidation with a deadly weapon and knowingly places someone in fear of death or bodily injury
- suggests that he / she has a deadly weapon, or possess an object meant to resemble a weapon
The key element in aggravated robbery vs. robbery is the use or threat of a deadly weapon. This can include any firearm (loaded or unloaded), knife, bludgeon, weapon, device, instrument, material, or substance that is capable of seriously injuring or killing another person. The deadly weapon itself doesn't even need to present for an aggravated robbery charge to result. Consequently, simply hinting that you possess a weapon or utilizing an item that looks like one is enough to commit the offense.
Punishments for Aggravated Robbery in Denver
Aggravated Robbery is a class 3 felony in Colorado. It is also an extraordinary risk crime, resulting in increased sentencing parameters. Consequences of conviction can include:
- 4 – 16 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections
- a fine of up to $750,000
If the defendant knowingly wounds or strikes a person with a deadly weapon during the act of robbery, the maximum prison sentence can be up to 32 years. When a situation lacks the use or threat of a deadly weapon, the charge of Robbery C.R.S. 18-4-301 can result. This crime involves the act of knowingly taking something of value from another while using force, threats, or intimidation. This is a class 4 felony in Colorado which can also result in up to 6 years in prison and a fine of up to $500,000.
Denver Aggravated Robbery Lawyer
It is essential that anyone facing aggravated robbery charges speak with a seasoned criminal defense attorney. With potentially significant time behind bars and substantial fines on the table, your future is at stake. If police or investigators contact you, it is especially important that you not speak with them. Exercise your right to remain silent, as any information or statements you provide can end up being costly in your defense. Finally, contact an experienced aggravated robbery attorney to prioritize your best possible outcome.
If you or someone you know is facing robbery charges, be smart. Contact the skilled defense lawyers at O'Malley and Sawyer at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: pexels – Skitterphoto