It is unlawful in Denver, and throughout Colorado, to make a false report of a crime to authorities. A famous actor was recently charged with felony disorderly conduct for allegedly filing a false report claiming he was the victim of a hate-crime attack. Initially, there was an outpouring of support for this man, but as the powers that be dug deeper, evidence emerged suggesting the attack may have been staged. In Colorado, False Reporting is usually a class 3 misdemeanor. However, if certain situations arise that involve falsely reporting the presence of explosives, weapons, or harmful substances, felony charges can apply. Consulting an expert attorney for false reporting is vital if you or someone you know is facing charges.
What is False Reporting to Authorities in Denver?
Colorado law C.R.S. 18-8-111 – False Reporting to Authorities outlines the unlawful conduct of false reporting. A few key elements are below:
- a person (knowingly) falsely activates a fire alarm or emergency exit alarm
- prevents the activation of a fire / emergency alarm
- creates a false report or causes a false report to be transmitted to police (knowing the crime / incident didn't occur)
- presents information related to a crime that is known to be false
- provides false identification to police
Additionally, falsely reporting the presence of an explosive, weapon, or harmful substance in a public place or on public transportation is illegal. Specifically, items such as bombs, chemical / biological agents, poison, and weapons fall under this label.
Consequences for False Reporting to Authorities in Denver
False Reporting to Authorities is typically a class 3 misdemeanor in Colorado. Punishments can include up to 6 months in county jail and a fine of between $50 and $750. If the offense includes a person deliberately causing an alarm to sound while committing another crime, a class 2 misdemeanor can apply. Consequences can include 3 – 12 months in county jail and fines of $250 – $1,000. False Reporting becomes a class 6 felony when a claim of explosives, weapons, or harmful substances in a public place is made to another person. A class 6 felony can include 12 – 18 jail time and fines of $1,000 – $100,000.
Attorney for False Reporting to Authorities
False reporting clearly goes beyond something as simple as lying to police about who you are. People often commit this crime when they're pulled over by law enforcement and make an attempt to pretend to be someone else. They might provide a false name in hopes that they're not identified. This is the lower end of the spectrum when compared to falsely accusing others of criminal activity. The law frowns upon this conduct, especially because it diverts resources away from legitimate threats to public safety. Consult an expert defense attorney for false reporting so that the facts in your unique situation are taken into consideration.
If you or someone you know is facing false reporting charges, be smart. Contact the highly rated defense lawyers at Sawyer Legal Group at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: pexels – Negative Space
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment