Those convicted of most sex crimes are required to register as a sex offender with local law enforcement. Failing to complete the registration requirements within the time frames outlined at sentencing (either annually or quarterly), is the crime known as Failure to Register as a Sex Offender, C.R.S. 18-3-412.5. Someone convicted of a felony sex crime commits an additional felony if they fail to register. Misdemeanor sex offenders commit an additional misdemeanor should they fail to register. These particularly tough registration laws require council from an Aurora failure to register attorney.
Sex Offender Requirements in Aurora, CO
Several requirements for convicted sex offenders exist in Arapahoe County. These obligations apply to those convicted in the state of Colorado and also to those who were convicted of certain sex offenses in other states. Some of the requirements are listed below:
- in-person registration with local law enforcement
- providing an accurate and up-to-date registration form
- listing a current address and date of birth
- providing full legal name, all previous names and aliases
- re-registering within 5 days of a residence change, purchase of an additional residence, or legal name change
- current photograph
- listing all email addresses and online information
- providing license plate numbers, make & model information, and color of all owned or operated vehicles
Providing inaccurate or false information in regards to any of the above items or also failing to provide this information within the designated time frame, may lead to a devastating charge. Hiring an experienced sex crimes lawyer is especially crucial if you or someone you know has failed to register as a sex offender.
Punishments for Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in Aurora, CO
Failure to register as a sex offender is a class 1 misdemeanor if your prior conviction is a misdemeanor sex crime. Consequences can include 6 – 18 months in county jail and also a fine of up to $5,000. If the prior conviction was a felony sex crime, failure to register may result in a class 6 felony. Punishments can include 1 – 2 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections, as well as a fine of up to $100,000. Additionally, failing to register for a second time can be a class 5 felony. Sentencing parameters include 1 – 4 years in prison as well as a fine of up to $100,000.
Aurora Attorney for Failure to Register as a Sex Offender
Getting your life back together after a sex crime conviction is an especially treacherous endeavor. Difficulties with employment, the intrusive elements of probation / treatment, and also the social stigma of being a sex offender are significant hurdles. All of these restraints and requirements can lead to a lapse in judgement or forgetting to make that registration appointment altogether. Do not let a potential prison sentence be your reality. Instead, hire a skilled sex crimes attorney with a vast knowledge of the system and experience fighting to protect their client's freedoms.
If you or someone you know has failed to register as a sex offender, be smart. Contact the skilled defense attorneys at O'Malley and Sawyer at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pexels – Matthias Zomer