Motor vehicle theft in Aurora, Centennial, Englewood, and Littleton involves taking another person's car without permission. This includes a vehicle on the street, a friend or family member's car, or a company vehicle. Whether you're being accused of using threats or deception or simply taking a car without authorization from the owner, stiff penalties apply for a conviction. The ramifications amplify depending on the vehicle's value and what a defendant does with the car after unlawfully taking control of it. If you or someone you know is facing aggravated motor vehicle theft charges in Arapahoe, Denver, or Adams County, contact our law office to speak with an experienced defense attorney.
Colorado's Motor Vehicle Theft Law
Colorado's automobile theft law prohibits taking another's car, truck, van, or motorcycle without permission. CRS 18-4-409 addresses both first and second-degree aggravated motor vehicle theft in CO. Charges of second-degree aggravated motor vehicle theft in Arapahoe, Adams, or Jefferson County can result if police believe you:
- knowingly obtained or exercised control,
- over someone's motor vehicle,
- without authorization or by threat or deception
The situation elevates to first-degree aggravated motor vehicle theft if after taking the vehicle you cause bodily injury or $500+ of property damage, keep the car for >24 hrs, try to disguise / alter it, or use it to commit another crime. Taking the vehicle out of Colorado for more than 12 hrs is also considered 1st degree auto theft.
How Serious is Motor Vehicle Theft in Aurora?
Charges for auto theft in Colorado range from a class 1 misdemeanor all the way up to a class 3 felony. The misdemeanor only applies to cases absent of the aggravating factors and where the vehicle is worth less than $1,000. All other felony auto theft charges can result in:
- a prison sentence of 1 - 12 years,
- fines of $1K - $750K,
- a period of parole
Additionally, both adults and juveniles will have their driver's license revoked for a minimum of one year in auto theft cases. In addition to the impactful criminal penalties, the inability to drive for 12 months or more makes life that much more difficult.
Colorado Defense Attorney for Auto Theft Charges
Skilled representation is integral when it comes to allegations of auto theft in Colorado. Just because you've been charged with aggravated motor vehicle theft doesn't mean you're guilty. Perhaps you did have permission to drive the car, you're being falsely accused, or there are holes in the evidence against you. Contact our office today for a free, confidential consultation with an experienced auto theft lawyer. We will thoroughly evaluate your unique case, as well as recommend next steps in your defense. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make securing a determined criminal attorney possible in uncertain times.
Don't talk to police about auto theft charges - talk to us. 303-830-0880
Photo by Marvin Meyer
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment