In downtown Denver, the nightlife is hopping and generally, when alcohol is involved, people don't make the best choices. Occasionally, a fun night out ends in a bloody nose, or worse, criminal charges. In Denver County, there are many criminal statutes that address the type of fighting that is the result of a bar fight. Let's take a closer look at each of the statues and the range of sentences you could be facing.
Facing Disorderly Conduct charges?Get Help Now!
Adams County Fighting by Agreement or Dueling Attorney: A Petty Offense or Felony Charge
If you get into a verbal argument with someone in Adams County, and you both agree to go outside and make the argument physical, you could get charged with Fighting by Agreement or Dueling. The Colorado law definition of C.R.S. 18-13-104 – Fighting by Agreement – is:
“(1) If two or more persons shall fight by agreement in a public place, except in a sporting event authorized by law, the persons so fighting commit a class 1 petty offense.
(2) Persons who by agreement engage in a fight with deadly weapons, whether in a public or private place, commit dueling, which is a class 4 felony.”
As a class 1 petty offense in Brighton and Broomfield, you could face up to 6 months in the Adams or Broomfield County Jail and up to $500 in fines. For the class 4 felony, the potential sentence is 2 to 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and up to $500,000 in fines – a big difference!
Jefferson County Disorderly Conduct Lawyer: Fighting in a Public Place
Let's say you get into an argument with another person in a Golden bar and then you start shoving the person. If the Jefferson County Sheriff is called, then you could be facing Disorderly Conduct charges for Fighting in Public. As a class 3 misdemeanor, Disorderly Conduct is punishable by up to 6 months in the Jefferson County Jail up to $750 in fines.
Arapahoe County Assault Attorney: Physical Contact with Injury
If a physical fight includes injury – either bodily injury or serious bodily injury – then Assault may be charged. First, Second, or Third Degree Assault are all possible charges based on the level of injury, intent, and whether weapons were used. Sentences for Assault range from up to 24 months in the Arapahoe County Jail to many years in prison.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one has been charged with Fighting, Assault, or Disorderly Conduct, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best attorneys from the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Source: Pixabay-ToNic-Pics
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment