Criminal Defense Blog

Can You Go to Jail for Careless Driving in Denver?

Posted by Kyle B. Sawyer | Mar 30, 2021 | 0 Comments

Can You Go to Jail for Careless Driving in Denver?

Careless driving in Denver, Lakewood, and Aurora is a traffic offense that often stems from disregarding the road and surroundings while driving. Whether commuting to work, taking your kids to school, or rushing to an appointment, local police are on the lookout for those driving carelessly in and around Denver. With county jail time, fines, and DMV points as possible consequences, contacting an experienced Denver traffic attorney is a must. Below we discuss careless driving in more detail and how our skilled lawyers can help those facing accusations.

Colorado's Careless Driving Law 

The careless driving law throughout Colorado prohibits specific disregard for roads, conditions, and surroundings. CRS 42-4-1402 addresses driving carelessly in Denver, Aurora, and Lakewood. Law enforcement may issue a ticket if they believe you:

  • drove a vehicle, bike / e-bike, or scooter,
  • in a careless and imprudent manner,
  • without due regard for the width, grade, curves, corners, traffic, use of the streets and highways, and all other attendant circumstances 

This creates for an especially wide net when it comes to charging Colorado drivers. Using technology behind the wheel, speeding in bad weather, or even eating lunch while you drive could result in an allegation of careless driving, especially if there's a crash.

Repercussions of Careless Driving in Denver

Penalties for a careless driving conviction in Colorado are significantly affected by whether someone was injured. If no one was hurt, driving carelessly is a class 2 traffic misdemeanor. Consequences in these cases can include:

  • a county jail sentence of up to 3 months,
  • fines of $150 - $300 

If, however, another person was injured because of your careless driving, a class 1 traffic misdemeanor applies. This can elevate the jail time to 12 months and result in a $1,000 fine.

Careless driving with or without injury can also include a 4 DMV point penalty, community service, and restitution payment to any victims.

Accused of Careless Driving? Contact Our Attorneys Today

There are effective defense strategies to careless driving charges. Contacting a strategic careless driving lawyer early on after a ticket or charge has many benefits and often leads to a better outcome. Perhaps your driving wasn't careless, the impact of the elements was unavoidable, or your driving didn't cause the injuries. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. We will thoroughly examine your situation, as well as suggest next steps. With affordable fees and flexible payment plans, our defense attorneys can form a strong defense to the traffic crime allegations you or a loved one are facing.

Don't talk to the police about careless driving - talk to us. 303-830-0880

 Photo by M&W Studios

About the Author

Kyle B. Sawyer

I have a passion for defending others in criminal cases. I am able to empathize with my clients and understand their emotions and fears. I have a unique perspective on the criminal justice system and I understand what it feels like to be wrongly accused of a crime.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Get Help Now

If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges in the Denver area, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the top criminal defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future. Request a Free Consultation

Menu