The carrying a concealed weapon law in Jefferson County makes it unlawful to carry a firearm or knife concealed on your person in many scenarios. Additionally, bringing a firearm or explosive device into a location where government business occurs is also prohibited. When someone carries a weapon without a specific permit or under certain restrictions, criminal charges can follow. If facing a violation of the carrying a concealed weapon law in Colorado, reach out to a particularly skilled criminal defense attorney right away.
Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Colorado
CRS 18-12-105 addresses unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon throughout the state of Colorado. A person commits this offense in Lakewood, Golden, or Arvada if they:
- knowingly and willingly hide a firearm on their person,
- carry a hidden knife (blade length longer than 3.5 in),
- or carry, bring, or possess a weapon or other dangerous item into a location where government business takes place
There are however exceptions for carrying a concealed weapon, which include:
- with a valid concealed carry permit,
- in a private vehicle for the purpose of self defense,
- on property you own (home and business),
- as an on-duty police officer,
- as an on-duty probation or parole officer
Will I Go to Jail for Unlawfully Carrying in Jefferson County?
Violation of Colorado's concealed weapon law is a class 2 misdemeanor as a first-time offense. Conviction can result in:
- 3 – 12 months in county jail,
- fines of $250 – $1,000
However, another violation of the concealed weapon law within 5 years increases penalties substantially. Now a class 5 felony, potential consequences include:
- 1 – 3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
- up to $100,000 in fines
The felony conviction also results in the loss of the right to own or even possess a firearm moving forward.
Jefferson County Concealed Weapons Attorney
The laws surrounding concealed weapons in Colorado are especially complex and contain some exceptions. People often break these laws with no intent of doing so. Perhaps you didn't know you were in possession of the weapon, you had a valid permit, or you were on property you own. Nonetheless, contact our office for a free initial consultation with an experienced firearms attorney.
We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing accusations throughout Colorado.
So, if you or someone you know is facing unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon charges in Colorado, be smart. Contact the strategic criminal defense lawyers at O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo by un-perfekt