It is an obvious truth that people don't think straight when they are intoxicated. In one mother's situation, her alcohol intoxication not only caused her thinking to be impaired, but it also led to an arrest. According to the news, the mother was accused of trying to force her 13-year-old and 9-year-old daughters to blow into an ignition interlock device because she was too intoxicated / drunk to blow into the device herself in order to start her car. According to the arrest reports, the woman smelled of alcohol and told police she had one alcoholic beverage. Among other charges, in Denver, Baca County and everywhere else in Colorado, the woman could be charged with Child Abuse and violating the requirements of an ignition interlock device.
Facing Child Abuse charges?Get Help Now!
Child Abuse Definition in Douglas County, Colorado
In Douglas County, Adams County and every other county of Colorado, one way Child Abuse, C.R.S. 18-6-401, can be charged is if a person:
“Causes an injury to a child's life or health, or permits a child to be unreasonably placed in a situation that poses a threat of injury to the child's life or health, or engages in a continued pattern of conduct that results in malnourishment, lack of proper medical care, cruel punishment, mistreatment, or an accumulation of injuries that ultimately results in the death of a child or serious bodily injury to a child.”
If the woman's daughters were in the car with her when she was trying to get them to blow into the ignition interlock device so she could drive her car while drunk, she could be charged with Child Abuse. She could be charged with this offense for allowing her children to be in a situation that posed a threat of injury to their lives or health. Child Abuse can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony, depending on if the child abuse resulted in death or injury, or whether a person acted knowingly or recklessly, or with criminal negligence when committing Child Abuse.Protect your future by consulting
an experienced criminal defense lawyer on your case.
Violating Interlock Ignition Device Requirements in Arapahoe County, Colorado
Image Credit: FreeDigitalPhotos.net – Poulsen Photo
In Arapahoe County, Jefferson County and across Colorado, an ignition interlock device (IID) is a device that requires a breath sample before a vehicle can be started and periodically while driving. If you are required to drive with an ignition interlock device, but you drive a car without an ignition interlock device or circumvent or attempt to circumvent the proper use of an approved ignition interlock device, you can face a class 1 traffic misdemeanor charge. This is punishable by up to a year in the Arapahoe County Jail. Because the mother tried to get her daughters to blow into the device, it would be considered attempting to circumvent the proper use of her ignition interlock device.
Charged with Child Abuse in Colorado? Contact an Attorney
If you've been charged with Child Abuse or for violating the requirements of an ignition interlock device in Colorado, act quickly and contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer at the O'Malley Law Office today. Not only could you face jail or prison time upon a conviction of either of these violations, but your driving privileges could be revoked and you could lose custody of your children. Don't risk putting your future on the line – call the criminal defense attorneys at the O'Malley Law Office today to set up a free initial consultation.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges in Colorado, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense attorneys at the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – jarmoluk