Child abuse crimes in Jefferson County, Colorado typically involve someone harming a young person under the age of 16. Placing youth in situations that could potentially be harmful also can qualify as child abuse. Depending on injuries and how often the alleged abuse occurred, penalties can include significant periods of incarceration and also substantial fines. Contact an experienced child abuse defense lawyer right away if you're facing an accusation or charge of harming a minor in Colorado.
Colorado's Child Abuse Laws
Allegations of abusing a child can be frightening for parents and caregivers in Jefferson County. CRS 18-6-401 addresses Colorado's child abuse laws. Someone commits this offense in Lakewood, Arvada, or Golden if they:
- cause injury to a child's life / health,
- unreasonably place a child in a situation that poses risk of threat or injury,
- engage in conduct that leads to malnourishment, lack of medical care, cruel punishment, mistreatment, or multiple injuries,
- transport a child while driving under the influence,
- allow a child to be somewhere illegal drugs are produced
The broad spectrum of behaviors that could potentially result in child abuse charges make for an especially delicate situation in Colorado. Sometimes accidents happen or neighbors can also misinterpret a situation.
Is Child Abuse a Felony in Colorado?
In cases where a child doesn't experience any injury or the injuries are minor, a misdemeanor charge often applies. This can result in up to 12 months in county jail, as well fines of up to $1,000.
However, when there is a prior child abuse conviction or serious bodily injury occurs, child abuse becomes a felony offense. Years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and six-figure fines can apply if convicted.
Beyond jail time and fines, a child abuse conviction can lead to significant monitoring and sometimes the loss of your child. This particularly alarming reality heightens the need for strategic defense from an experienced attorney.
Jefferson County Child Abuse Defense Lawyer
Too often parents and caregivers might temporarily lose their cool and face damaging criminal charges as a result. Or perhaps your child told someone at school something that is simply untrue or significantly embellished. Nevertheless, you need a skilled defense attorney who will speak with the prosecutor and judge and emphasize the facts, as well as your side of the story. Contact our office for a free initial consultation where we will carefully analyze your child abuse case and recommend next steps. The best outcome for you and your family is our priority.
So, if you or someone you know is facing child abuse charges in Colorado, be smart. Contact the reputable defense attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo by Anton Uniqueton
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment