Child Abuse happens unknowingly sometimes. You have a quick errand or stop on the way home to make, and you leave your children in your car because you know you won't be long. But, maybe it's a hot day. Police are called after people see your children in your hot car and worry about their safety. Before long, you are accused of Child Abuse – no injury necessary. This was likely the case for one mother, who, according to the news, left her 3 children inside of a hot car. One child was 2 years old and the other two children were 4-year-old twins. Police reported that witnesses saw the young boys inside the car, sweating and in distress. The inside car temperature was apparently 101 degrees. In Denver, Adams County and across Colorado, the mother would face charges of Child Abuse.
Facing Child Abuse charges?Get Help Now!
Child Abuse Douglas County Lawyer | Child Abuse Charges for Leaving Your Child in Your Car
In Douglas County and across Colorado, a person commits child abuse if that person:
“Causes an injury to a child's life or health, or permits a child to be unreasonably placed in a situation that poses a threat of injury to the child's life or health, or engages in a continued pattern of conduct that results in malnourishment, lack of proper medical care, cruel punishment, mistreatment, or an accumulation of injuries that ultimately results in the death of a child or serious bodily injury to a child.”
Because the mother allegedly kept her children inside of a hot car that was 101 degrees inside, she allowed them to be in a situation that posed a threat of injury to their lives or health, which would qualify as Child Abuse in Colorado.
Child Abuse Sentence, Punishment and Consequences in Arapahoe County, Colorado
Child Abuse can be sentenced as a misdemeanor or felony in Arapahoe County, depending on whether death or injury resulted, or whether a person acted knowingly, recklessly, or with criminal negligence when committing Child Abuse. In the mother's case, she could either face a class 2 misdemeanor or class 3 misdemeanor punishment. Prosecutors would have to prove she either acted knowingly, recklessly, or with criminal negligence when leaving her children in her car. The main differences between acting knowingly, recklessly or with criminal negligence is whether you are aware that your conduct poses a risk, and how you respond if you do recognize a risk exists.
Child Abuse Jefferson County Lawyer: Call Us if Facing Charges of Child Abuse
If facing charges of Child Abuse in Jefferson County or any other county in Colorado, call the best Child Abuse lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office today. Like the mother in the news story, many men and women face charges of Child Abuse after leaving their kids in a car, or leaving their children unattended in a public place. Where witnesses are present, you can be sure police calls will be made, and you risk an arrest and criminal charges. Because there are many ways you can face accusations or charges of Child Abuse in Colorado, you should never give out any statements to police. Instead, call an experienced criminal defense attorney at the O'Malley Law Office who will fight hard to protect your rights.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one faces charges of felony or misdemeanor Child Abuse, be smart and exercise your right to remain silent. Then, consult the best criminal defense lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office for a free consultation at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – Monoar
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment