Contact Us to Request a Free Consultation 303-830-0880

Criminal Defense Blog

Child Porn Possession in Arapahoe County | Sexual Exploitation

Posted by Kyle B. Sawyer | Nov 02, 2020 | 0 Comments

Child Porn Possession
Child Porn Possession

Child porn possession in Arapahoe County, Colorado involves having control over underage, sexually explicit materials. These items are often found on electronic devices such as laptops, tablets, and smartphones, and sometimes as printed images. When photos or videos show minors 17 or younger engaging in sexual acts, sexual exploitation of a child charges can result. These items are sometimes discovered when a friend or loved one uses a defendant's device or the files are uploaded to cloud storage or to social media. With prison time, steep fines, and sex offender registration looming, hiring an experienced sex crimes attorney is crucial for those facing allegations. Below we discuss child porn possession in greater detail and how we can help defendants fight these charges.

Arapahoe County Child Porn Possession Law

Arapahoe County's law surrounding child porn possession is a complex statute that prohibits having, sending, or making juvenile pornography. CRS 18-6-403 addresses the specific elements of this sex crime throughout Colorado. Someone commits child porn possession in Arapahoe County if they:

  • possess sexually explicit materials,
  • showing a minor under the age of 18,
  • engaging in nudity, fondling, sexual arousal, masturbation, or oral / vaginal / anal sex  

This includes photos, still images, video, motion picture, recordings, and broadcast of moving visual images. With the plethora of lewd material available online, a few misguided taps or clicks can lead to incredibly costly penalties.

Sexual Exploitation of a Child Penalties in Colorado

Each child porn possession case is different. Therefore, the penalties for a conviction aren't always the same. This sex offense is at minimum a class 5 felony, potentially resulting in:

  • up to 3 years in prison,
  • fines of $1K - $100K,
  • sex offender registration

However, for a second offense involving child pornography, possessing video, or having 20+ items, the offense becomes a class 4 felony. This can double the prison sentence and includes a fine range of $2K - $500K, in addition to the requirement to register as a sex offender and complete sex offender treatment.

Child Porn Defense Attorney

We understand the magnitude of a sexual exploitation of a child allegation in Colorado. Our skilled criminal lawyers have decades of combined experience fighting sex crime charges in Denver, Arapahoe, and Jefferson County. Our results truly speak for themselves. Perhaps you didn't know you were in possession of the items, the material simply showed affection, or the minors were 18 or older. That said, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. One of our strategic attorneys will carefully analyze your child porn case, as well as recommend next steps in your defense. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing internet sex crime charges in Aurora, Lakewood, and Denver.

Don't talk to the police about child porn possession - talk to us. O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC 303-830-0880

Photo by Zui Hoang

About the Author

Kyle B. Sawyer

I have a passion for defending others in criminal cases. I am able to empathize with my clients and understand their emotions and fears. I have a unique perspective on the criminal justice system and I understand what it feels like to be wrongly accused of a crime.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Get Help Now

If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges in the Denver area, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future. Request a Free Consultation

Menu