Child sex assault charges in Denver, Lakewood, and Aurora can result from allegations of any sexual contact with children under 15. A four year age gap or more makes even touching private parts over the clothes unlawful when these age parameters exist. Whether a young teenager consents to these acts or not, the older party faces disastrous consequences including indeterminate sentencing, strict monitoring, and dreaded sex offender registration. An accusation of molesting a child in Colorado requires immediate action. Don't talk to law enforcement. Consult an experienced sex crime lawyer to confidentially discuss your situation.
Sex Assault on a Child Law in Denver
Denver's sex assault on a child law prohibits any sexual contact with juveniles under 15 when a four year (or more) age gap exists. CRS 18-3-405 defines the specific elements of sexual assault on a child throughout Colorado. You commit this offense in Denver, Cherry Creek, or Montbello if you:
- knowingly subject a child 14 or younger (not your spouse),
- to any sexual contact,
- AND are 4 or more years older than the child
This includes touching a child's intimate parts or having them touch your private parts. The genital area, butt, or breasts don't have to be exposed, as fondling or groping over or through clothing is unlawful if done for the purpose sexual arousal, gratification, or abuse.
How Bad is Sexual Assault on a Child in Colorado?
While each SAOC case is different, the penalties for a conviction are especially harsh. This crime is at minimum a class 4 felony, possibly leading to:
- up to 6 years in prison,
- fines of $2K – $500K,
- sex offender registration
Defendants in these cases also face costly treatment overseen by Colorado's sex offender management board, as well as sex offender intensive supervised probation. The combination of these ramifications and the restrictions that accompany them can be insurmountable. Additionally, there can be aggravating factors. Using threats or a pattern of abuse (multiple sexual encounters) can drastically increase the prison sentence and fine amounts.
Lawyer for Child Sex Assault Charges
Anyone facing child sex assault charges in Denver, Jefferson, or Arapahoe County should seek experienced representation immediately. Our skilled criminal lawyers have decades of experience fighting SAOC charges and our results speak for themselves. Perhaps no physical contact ever occurred, the touching was accidental, or the child isn't being truthful. Some adults have even made these claims against another out of revenge, knowing the severity and presumption of guilt associated with the allegation.
Nevertheless, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing sexual assault accusations throughout Denver, Jefferson, and Arapahoe County.
Don't talk to the police about sexual assault on a child – talk to us. Sawyer Legal Group 303-830-0880.
Photo by Andrea Piacquadio
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment