A person in Colorado Springs is facing multiple criminal charges after a rollover crash resulted in their arrest. Upon their arrival, police found over $1,000 worth of stolen tools from “a local home improvement store” and an “undisclosed amount of methamphetamine” (KRDO). As two others involved in the crash ran away, it is not certain yet what the person who was arrested will be charged with, but if they are found guilty of the theft and possession of methamphetamine, they will be facing at least a Class 1 Misdemeanor for Theft and at least a Level 4 Drug Felony for Meth Possession.
Denver Colorado Law for Meth Possession
In Denver and throughout Colorado, the possession of any amount of Meth will result in Felony charges. Classified as a Schedule II drug, alongside other controlled substances such as opium, codeine, and amphetamine. Any material, compound, mixture or preparation containing ANY quantity of Methamphetamine, or its salts, isomers, or salts of isomers, is included as a Schedule II drug. Colorado Revised Statute 18-18-403.5 – Unlawful possession of a controlled substance – states that,“(1)… it is unlawful for a person knowingly to possess a controlled substance. (2) A person who violates subsection (1) of this section by possessing:
- (a) Any material, compound, mixture, or preparation that contains any quantity of flunitrazepam, ketamine, cathinones, or a controlled substance listed in schedule I or II of part 2 of this article commits a level 4 drug felony.”
Penalties for Methamphetamine Possession or Distributing and Selling in Arapahoe County
If a person is found to be distributing, manufacturing, dispensing, or selling a controlled substance in Arapahoe County, the penalties will be even higher than mere possession. While a level 4 drug felony for Methamphetamine possession will result in 6 – 12 months in prison and/or a $1,000 – $100,000 fine, unlawful distribution, manufacturing, dispensing, or selling can result in anywhere between a level 1 drug felony and a level 1 drug misdemeanor, depending on the type of controlled substance and the amount of drugs involved (See C.R.S. 18-18-405).
Jefferson County Lawyer for Drug Possession Charges
Colorado's drug possession laws are complex, and the legal system is harsh. If you are being charged with Meth possession or possession of any other controlled substance in Jefferson County, do not speak with police. Be smart; politely exercise your right to remain silent and contact the experienced criminal defense attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group today at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment