Encouraging or allowing anyone under 18 to break the law is charged as Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor in Denver, Aurora, and Castle Rock. A man was recently charged with Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor and misdemeanor Sexual Assault after providing alcohol to teens and having sex with one of them. According to the report, two teenage girls left school early to go to the 29-year-old man's house. He gave them vodka and then, according to one of the girls, she felt attracted to him so they had sex.
Facing Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor Charges?Get Help Now!
Douglas County Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor Lawyer: Providing Alcohol to a Minor in Arapahoe County
The Douglas and Arapahoe County, Colorado law definition of Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor – C.R.S. 18-6-701 – is:
“(1) Any person who induces, aids, or encourages a child to violate any federal or state law, municipal or county ordinance, or court order commits contributing to the delinquency of a minor.”
It is against the law for anyone under the age of 21 to drink, unless they have permission from a parent and are under the parent's supervision. Because the man was not the parent and provided them with alcohol, he is facing two counts of this class 4 felony. Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor is punishable by 2 to 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections.
Adams County Sexual Assault Lawyer: Misdemeanor Sex Assault in Jefferson County
The Jefferson and Adams County, Colorado law definition of misdemeanor Sexual Assault – C.R.S. 18-3-402 (1)(e) – is:
“(1) Any actor who knowingly inflicts sexual intrusion or sexual penetration on a victim commits sexual assault if:
(e) At the time of the commission of the act, the victim is at least fifteen years of age but less than seventeen years of age and the actor is at least ten years older than the victim and is not the spouse of the victim;”
While the age of the girl was not disclosed, she must have been 15 or 16 years old in order for the misdemeanor Sex Assault charge to apply. As a class 1 misdemeanor extraordinary risk crime, misdemeanor Sexual Assault is punishable by 6 to 24 months in the Adams County Jail.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one has been charged with Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor or Sexual Assault, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense attorneys from the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880 today. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Source: Pixabay-rebcenter-moscow