Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor is often charged in Denver, Jefferson, and Adams County for giving someone under the age of 18 alcohol. There are, however, many other circumstances that meet the criteria for this crime. One mother used her 12-year-old daughter as a crime buddy, encouraging her to shoplift, allowing her to use a taser on the 7-11 clerk who called the police to report them, and having her help kick out the glass of the door because they had been locked in the 7-11 while police were on their way. Not the most responsible parenting if you ask me. While a charge for the stolen Red Bulls would have been a petty offense, the mother is now facing felony charges because she encouraged her daughter to and aided her in breaking the law. The daughter is also facing charges for Theft, Criminal Mischief, and Assault.
Facing Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor charges?
Douglas and Arapahoe County Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor Definition
The Arapahoe and Douglas County, Colorado definition of Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor – C.R.S. 18-6-701 – is:
“Any person who induces, aids, or encourages a child to violate any federal or state law, municipal or county ordinance, or court order commits contributing to the delinquency of a minor. For the purposes of this section, the term “child” means any person under the age of eighteen years.”
By simply being present and responsible for a child when he or commits a crime you can be charged with this felony. For example, your 15-year-old son and his friends are hanging out in your basement and decide to drink some of your alcohol and then go outside and get in trouble. The police are called and when they arrive, they see that you are home and therefore responsible for the boys. Since the alcohol was yours, you end up charged with multiple felony counts of Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor.
Jefferson County Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor Sentence
Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor is a class 4 felony in Jefferson County and is punishable by 2 to 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections. Can you imagine going to prison as an 18-year-old for being out with your 17-year-old friend past the curfew set by a municipal code?
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one has been charged with Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor, be smart exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense attorneys from the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880 today. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Source: Pixabay-Free-Photos
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment