Criminal Trespass occurs in Broomfield when someone unlawfully enters or remains on another's property. Just last month, twelve misdemeanor and three felony arrests were made after activity at a local business. The severity of a trespassing charge hinges on the type of property entered and the motive for doing so. With the wide range of possible penalties of conviction, consulting an experienced criminal trespassing lawyer is crucial.
Colorado No Trespassing Law | Criminal Trespassing Lawyer
C.R.S. 18-4-502, 18-4-503, and 18-4-504 define the conduct of trespassing in Colorado. The least severe of the three is third degree trespass. This occurs when a person unlawfully enters or remains on the property of another, typically in locations that are not a dwelling or lack a clear barrier or fence. If a person unlawfully enters or remains in an enclosed area such as a hotel lobby, apartment building, or even a vehicle, they can be charged with second degree trespass. Finally, if a man or woman knowingly and unlawfully enters or remains in someone's home, a charge of first degree trespass can result. Additionally, entering a vehicle with the intent to commit a crime is also 1st degree trespass in Broomfield. An example may include a man or woman entering a delivery truck and trying to steal a package.
Is Trespassing a Felony in Colorado?
It can be. As long as the property isn't classified as agricultural land, simply entering or remaining (not in a dwelling) is a class 1 petty offense. However, entering or remaining in a location with a clearly designed barrier to keep out intruders is a class 3 misdemeanor in Broomfield, CO and can escalate to a class 2 misdemeanor if the land is in fact agricultural. Penalties can include up to 12 months in county jail and as much as $1,000 in fines. Criminal trespass becomes a class 5 felony offense when the conduct fits the definition of trespassing in the first degree (as mentioned above). Possible consequences include 12 – 36 months in the Colorado Department of Corrections and fines of up to $100,000.
Criminal Trespassing Lawyer | Colorado Trespassing Laws
You might not think going beyond that black and orange sign could land you in jail… but it certainly can. Law enforcement will hold those who disobey trespassing laws accountable. We're here to help when they do. Maybe you didn't know you were entering agricultural land or you had the property owner's permission to be present. Nevertheless, representation from a skilled criminal defense lawyer early on is vital. Contact our office for a free consultation where we will carefully analyze the details of your unique case and outline next steps.
If you or someone you know is facing trespassing charges, be smart. Contact the reputable defense lawyers at Sawyer Legal Group at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: pexels – LisetteBrody
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment