Afuneral director was injured after jumping from a second-floor window of a funeral home, according to a recent arson news story. He was trying to escape a fire that was suspected to be arson. Investigators think the fire was started intentionally, but they are not sure how exactly it was started. The funeral director and another employee were sleeping when the fire started, but thankfully they were able to escape. The funeral home, however, was destroyed. If someone started this fire intentionally, he or she could be facing First Degree Arson charges. If you've been charged with Douglas County or Denver Arson, contact an Arson attorney immediately.
What is 1st Degree Arson in Colorado?
The definition of First Degree Arson, C.R.S. 18-4-102, in Douglas and Arapahoe County is:
“A person who knowingly sets fire to, burns, causes to be burned, or by the use of any explosive damages or destroys, or causes to be damaged or destroyed, any building or occupied structure of another without his consent commits 1st degree arson.”
Investigators suspect that someone started this fire on purpose, and the funeral home was burned down because of the fire. So, it is likely that if a person did commit this crime, he or she would face charges of First Degree Arson. But, it could have very well been started on accident. Many times, someone can unintentionally start a fire and before they know it, it could get out of control and lead to property damage. This is why it's important for you to involve an experienced criminal defense attorney by your side to fight any unfair charges against you.
Consequences of First Degree Arson
Class 3 Felony Arson
4-12 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and between $3,000 and $750,000 in fines
Class 3 Felony Arson (Extraordinary Risk)
4-16 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and between $3,000 and $750,000 in fines
Facing First Degree Arson charges?Get Help Now!
Second Degree Arson in Jefferson County
If this funeral home had been someone's horse property, for example, a person could face Second-Degree Arson (C.R.S. 18-4-103) charges if it was purposefully damaged. The definition of 2nd Degree Arson is:
“A person who knowingly sets fire to, burns, causes to be burned, or by the use of any explosive damages or destroys, or causes to be damaged or destroyed, any property of another without his consent, other than a building or occupied structure, commits second degree arson.”
The difference between First and Second Degree Arson is that First Degree Arson involves damage to a building or occupied structure, while Second Degree Arson refers to property other than a building or occupied structure. Since lives are at risk when a building or occupied structure (like a house), is burned down, that class of felony is more serious.
Consequences of Second-Degree Arson
$100 or more
Class 4 felony Arson
2-6 years in prison and between $2,000 and $500,000 in fines
Less than one hundred dollars
Class 2 misdemeanor Arson
3-12 months in Jefferson County Jail and between $250 and $1,000 in fines
Why You Need the Best Denver Arson Attorneys
Denver Arson is a serious crime and could result in prison sentencing in more extreme cases. If you are facing First Degree or Second Degree Arson charges in Denver or anywhere else in Colorado, the sooner you can get an experienced criminal defense attorney to help, the better. The lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office have handled a number of arson cases throughout Colorado, and are ready to defend you.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one is facing First or Second Degree Denver Arson charges, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: FreeDigitalPhotos.net – pigdevilphoto
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment