Recently, I read a news story about a woman who was pulled over after stopping at a red light while putting on makeup. When she was approached by the police officer, she told the police officer she was just using Chapstick, and thought she was pulled over as a joke. The officer assured her it was no joke, and that she could have been pulled over if she was drinking water or shaving her legs. The point was that her eyes were taken off of the road. If this happened in Colorado, the woman could face charges of Careless Driving in Denver, Littleton and across Colorado.
Facing Careless Driving charges?Get Help Now!
Denver Careless Driving Attorney: What is Careless Driving in Colorado?
The definition of Careless Driving, C.R.S. 42-4-1402, in Denver, Arapahoe and Douglas County is:A person who drives a motor vehicle, bicycle, electrical assisted bicycle, or low-power scooter in a careless and imprudent manner, without due regard for the width, grade, curves, corners, traffic, and use of the streets and highways and all other attendant circumstances, is guilty of careless driving.
The woman in this news story would likely be charged with Careless Driving because putting on makeup can be distracting while driving. If both of her hands were not on the wheel while she was driving, or if she was looking in a mirror to apply the makeup, her attention was likely taken away from the road. As a result, this would be an act of Careless Driving, since she was not paying attention to how she was driving her vehicle. However, the woman could have just as easily been touching her hands to her mouth while waiting at a stop light. And, while waiting, a police officer could have mistaken that for her applying makeup while driving. There are always two sides to a story, and we want to hear your side. That's why it's important to have an experienced Careless Driving attorney who knows the law well to help if you are facing Careless Driving charges in Denver or anywhere else in Colorado.People can be pulled over for multiple reasons for careless driving. If facing charges, it's in your best interest to act early on with an experienced attorney.
Careless Driving Consequences in Jefferson County, Colorado
Careless driving is a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense in Jefferson and Adams County, which means someone could spend 3-12 months in the Jefferson County jail. Someone could also risk paying between $250 and $1,000 in fines. If someone causes injury or death to another person because of careless driving, he or she commits a class 1 misdemeanor traffic offense. This is called Careless Driving Resulting in Death, and carries 12 points against the driver's license. Careless Driving Resulting in Death results in up to a year in the county jail, and a possible payment of $300-$1,000 in fines. There are even larger consequences if someone's careless driving leads to a Hit and Run.
Why You Need the Best Denver Criminal Defense Attorneys At Your Side
Denver police could have multiple reasons for pulling you over for careless driving. And, sometimes, a Denver Careless Driving charge can even be added onto another charge that resulted in property damage or injury or death to another person. The consequences of these charges can be severe. If you are facing Careless Driving charges anywhere in Colorado, it is in your best interest to act early on. Your future is worth protecting, and we have the knowledge and expertise needed to help you in your criminal case.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one is facing Denver Careless Driving charges, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880 for a free consultation. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – kaboompics
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment