According to the news, a man tossed a child into a swimming hole. The man later admitted to throwing the 4-year-old boy from a bridge 25 feet above water. Many people were screaming at the man not to throw the child, but he did anyways. The boy's mother also apparently agreed to let the man toss the boy from the bridge and later swam to bring him out of the water. Thankfully, the boy was wearing a life jacket. Police believe the man was also drinking. In Denver, Douglas County and across Colorado, the man and boy's mother would face charges of Child Abuse and Reckless Endangerment.
Facing Reckless Endangerment charges?Get Help Now!
Child Abuse Lawyer in Denver | How is Child Abuse Charged?
Child Abuse charges occur under many circumstances in Denver and across Colorado. Some ways Child Abuse, C.R.S. 18-6-401, charges occur are if a person causes an injury to a child's life or health, or permits a child to be unreasonably placed in a situation that poses a threat of injury to the child's life or health. Because the man threw the child from the bridge, he likely caused injury to the child, or put the child's life and health at risk. The man could face felony Child Abuse charges in Colorado.
Reckless Endangerment Lawyer in Arapahoe County | How Reckless Endangerment is Charged
In Arapahoe County and across Colorado, Reckless Endangerment, C.R.S. 18-3-208, charges occur whenever:
“A person recklessly engages in conduct which creates a substantial risk of serious bodily injury to another person.”
Because the man threw the child off of the bridge and the boy's mother agreed to have the man throw the child off the bridge, they could face charges of Reckless Endangerment. The boy could have been seriously injured as a result of the man's conduct. Reckless Endangerment is a class 3 misdemeanor in Colorado, which means those convicted could face up to 6 months in the Arapahoe County Jail.
Reckless Endangerment Charges in Adams County | No Injury Required to Face Charges
No injury or harm is required for you to face Reckless Endangerment charges in Adams County and elsewhere in Colorado. Prosecutors need only prove that your reckless behavior put someone else at risk of serious bodily injury. Serious bodily injury is injury that, either at the time of the actual injury or later, involves a risk of death, serious permanent disfigurement, risk of protracted loss or impairment of the function of any part or organ of the body, or breaks, fractures, or burns of the second or third degree. Because it is so easy to face charges of Reckless Endangerment in Colorado, you should always involve an experienced criminal defense lawyer in your case as soon as possible.
Charged with Reckless Endangerment or Child Abuse in Jefferson County? Call an Experienced Lawyer
If you face charges of Reckless Endangerment or Child Abuse in Jefferson County or any other part of Colorado, call the best criminal defense lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office immediately. Involving an attorney in your case is imperative. A criminal defense attorney may be able to get charges reduced, your case dismissed or win your case if it goes to trial. Call the O'Malley Law Office today to schedule a free initial consultation and protect your future.
Get Help Now
If you face accusations or charges of Reckless Endangerment or Child Abuse in Colorado, be smart and exercise your right to remain silent. Then, call us today at 303-830-0880 for a free consultation. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – annca