Sexual assault on a child in Denver, Aurora, and Lakewood can be charged when accusations of touching youth inappropriately come about. This especially serious crime is very specific when it comes to age factors. Allegations usually include claims that someone touched the intimate parts of a child who is 14 or younger and was 4 or more years older than the child at the time of the incident. Because juveniles under 15 cannot legally consent to sexual contact with anyone 4 or more years older, the physical contact is automatically unlawful. Below we discuss child sexual assault charges in more detail and how our experienced sex crime attorneys can help those facing this charge.
Denver Child Sexual Assault Law
Colorado's sexual assault on a child (SAOC) law prohibits sexual contact with someone under the age of 15 if you're 4 or more years older. CRS 18-3-405 is the criminal code that addresses SAOC throughout Colorado. Charges in Denver, Aurora, or Lakewood can result if law enforcement believes you:
- knowingly subjected another person 14 or younger (not your spouse),
- to any sexual contact,
- AND were at least 4 years older than the alleged victim
Sexual contact refers to you touching the child's intimate parts or the child touching your intimate parts. This includes groping or fondling of the butt, genital area, or female's breast(s) for arousal, gratification, or abuse. It is important to note that these body parts do not have to be exposed, as touching the clothing covering them applies as well.
Child Sex Assault Penalties in Colorado
Penalties for sexual assault on a child in Denver, Arapahoe, and Jefferson County are especially impactful and can include indeterminate sentencing. SAOC is at minimum a class 4 felony, potentially resulting in:
- a prison sentence of 2 - 6 years,
- fines of $2K - $500K,
- sex offender registration,
- sex offender evaluation / treatment
- strict supervision upon release
There are, however, factors that can elevate the charge to a class 3 felony. A pattern of abuse (more than once), threats, or use of force can push the prison sentence to a decade or more, and in some cases life. Sex offender registration creates its own hurdles as well, significantly limiting employment opportunities, housing options, and often isolating those who are on the registry from their communities.
Experienced Child Sexual Assault Lawyer in Denver
While some SAOC cases involve a level of culpability, others include false accusations, significant exaggeration, or inaccurate embellishments. As skilled Colorado criminal defense attorneys, we fight for the best possible outcome for each of our clients. Just because you've been charged doesn't mean you're guilty. Perhaps the touching never happened, didn't involve intimate parts, or was an accident. Contact our office today for a free, confidential consultation. Our experienced criminal lawyers will carefully evaluate your unique situation, as well as recommend next steps in your defense. Same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans set us apart from the competition. Hire an attorney you can trust with your case and your future.
Don't talk to police about child sexual assault accusations - talk to us. 303-830-0880
Photo by Timothy Eberly