Contact Us to Request a Free Consultation 303-830-0880

Denver and Jefferson County Minor in Possession of Marijuana | Teen Smokes, Gives 3-Year-Old Child Marijuana

Denver and Jefferson County Minor in Possession of Marijuana | Teen Smokes, Gives 3-Year-Old Child Marijuana

Posted by Terry O'Malley | Oct 14, 2016 | 0 Comments

Arecent news story reported that a 17-year-old allegedly allowed a child to smoke marijuana in his car. Apparently, the 17-year-old was seen in a video on Facebook smoking marijuana and asking a 3-year-old if he wanted to smoke or hit the gas/blunt as well. The 17-year-old is then seen several times allowing the 3-year-old to smoke the marijuana. The 3-year-old child's mother then gets in the back seat of the car with the child, and objects when the 17-year-old tries to give the child more marijuana. In Denver, Jefferson County and across Colorado, the 17-year-old would likely face charges of Illegal Possession or Consumption of Ethyl Alcohol or Marijuana by an Underage Person (Minor in Possession of Marijuana), Child Abuse and Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor.

Facing MIP charges?

Get Help Now!

Illegal Possession or Consumption of Ethyl Alcohol or Marijuana by an Underage Person in Adams County, Colorado

In Adams County and across Colorado, the 17-year-old could face charges of Illegal Possession or Consumption of Ethyl Alcohol or Marijuana by an Underage Person, or Minor in Possession of Marijuana, C.R.S. 18-13-122. In Colorado, except under a few circumstances, a person under twenty-one years of age who possesses one ounce or less of marijuana or consumes marijuana anywhere in the state of Colorado commits illegal possession or consumption of marijuana by an underage person. Illegal possession or consumption of marijuana by an underage person is a strict liability offense. Since the 17-year-old was smoking marijuana and is under the age of 21, he could face criminal charges of Illegal Possession or Consumption of Ethyl Alcohol or Marijuana by an Underage Person.

Minor in Possession of Marijuana Consequences in Arapahoe County, Colorado

If convicted of a first offense of Illegal Possession or Consumption of Ethyl Alcohol or Marijuana by an Underage Person in Arapahoe County, you must pay a fine of not more than $100, as well as complete a substance abuse education program, or both. If convicted of a second offense of illegally possessing or consuming marijuana, you must pay a fine of not more than $100, and you must complete a substance abuse education program, submit to a substance abuse assessment and complete any treatment recommended by the assessment if necessary, and perform up to 24 hours of useful public service. Finally, if you are convicted of a third or subsequent offense, you must pay a fine of up to $250, and you must submit to a substance abuse assessment and complete any treatment recommended by the assessment, as well as perform up to 36 hours of useful public service.

Child Abuse Weld County Attorney | Definition of Child Abuse

In Weld County and across Colorado, one of the ways Child Abuse, C.R.S. 18-6-401, charges occur is when:

“A person causes an injury to a child's life or health, or permits a child to be unreasonably placed in a situation that poses a threat of injury to the child's life or health, or engages in a continued pattern of conduct that results in malnourishment, lack of proper medical care, cruel punishment, mistreatment, or an accumulation of injuries that ultimately results in the death of a child or serious bodily injury to a child.”

Since the 17-year-old allowed a 3-year-old to smoke marijuana, he put the child in a situation that posed a threat of injury to the child's life or health. If no injury to the child resulted from this incident, the 17-year-old could face class 2 or class 3 misdemeanor charges. However, if the child experienced any injury other than serious bodily injury as a result of the child abuse, the 17-year-old could face class 1 or class 2 misdemeanor charges.

Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor Douglas County Attorney | Definition of Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor

Finally, the teen could face Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor, C.R.S. 18-6-701, charges. These charges occur in Douglas County and across Colorado whenever a person:

“Induces, aids, or encourages a child to violate any federal or state law, municipal or county ordinance, or court order. For the purposes of this section, the term “child” means any person under the age of eighteen years.”

Since the 17-year-old gave the 3-year-old marijuana to smoke, it would be considered encouraging the child (who is under 18) to violate Colorado state law. Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor is a class 4 felony in Colorado.

Criminal Defense Attorney in Denver | Call the O'Malley Law Office Today

If your child is facing charges of Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor, Child Abuse or Illegal Possession or Consumption of Ethyl Alcohol or Marijuana by an Underage Person, contact the O'Malley Law Office immediately. Your child or juvenile could be facing serious consequences upon an accusation or charge of Child Abuse, Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor or Illegal Possession or Consumption of Ethyl Alcohol or Marijuana by an Underage Person, including possible jail time, fines and a criminal record. Act quickly and contact a juvenile criminal defense attorney at the O'Malley Law Office right away if your child needs help. We will fight aggressively to protect their future.

Get Help Now

If you or your child is facing Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor, Child Abuse, or Illegal Possession or Consumption of Ethyl Alcohol or Marijuana by an Underage Person (Minor in Possession of Marijuana) charges, be smart and exercise your right to remain silent. Then, contact the best criminal defense attorneys at the O'Malley Law Office for a free consultation at 303-830-0880. Together, we will protect your future.Request a Free Consultation

Image Credit: Pixabay – Xtip

About the Author

Terry O'Malley

Get Help Now! Request a Free Consultation Meet Criminal Defense Attorney Terry O'Malley If you have been charged with a crime, you are probably dealing with strong emotions about your upcoming court appearance. You are struggling with knowing how to choose a trustworthy lawyer to represent you...

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Get Help Now

If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges in the Denver area, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future. Request a Free Consultation

Menu