In hindsight, it's often easier to see what we should or shouldn't have done. But, in the moment, we might brush something off or not even think about the results of our actions. In one news story I read, an aunt most likely didn't think too hard about the results of her actions until she was charged for an accidental death. According to the news, the aunt left her 6-year-old nephew in a car by himself as she went inside a home to meet her daughter. When the aunt came back outside to the car, she found her nephew had shot himself with a gun that had been left in the vehicle. The gun was apparently easily accessible. Even though the boy's death was accidental, the aunt is still being charged with Manslaughter. Let's learn more about this charge in Douglas and Arapahoe County, Colorado.
Facing charges of Manslaughter?Get Help Now!
Adams County Manslaughter – Actions Must Be Reckless or Intentional to Be Convicted
Denver and Adams County Manslaughter, C.R.S. 18-3-104, is charged whenever a person:
1. Recklessly causes the death of another person
2. Intentionally causes or aids another person to commit suicide
Since the 6-year-old was left alone in a car where a gun was easily accessible, Adams County prosecutors would argue the woman recklessly caused the boy's death. If the aunt was aware the gun was in the vehicle and that it posed a substantial risk of death to the boy, it could be considered reckless behavior. According to C.R.S. 18-1-501, a person acts recklessly when they consciously disregard a substantial and unjustifiable risk that a result will occur or that a circumstance exists. Recklessly is an important term of the Manslaughter statute, since it is used to determine whether or not someone is convicted of this charge. The problem is that this term can easily be misinterpreted by Denver County DAs. That's why our Denver Manslaughter criminal defense lawyers work hard to explain every detail of your side of the story in court.If you've been charged with Manslaughter, contact our Manslaughter criminal defense attorneys today.
An Accidental Death Often Results in Arapahoe County Manslaughter Charges
When everything's going against you, you need a strong advocate on your side
There are cases in Arapahoe County and Jefferson County where people have been charged with Manslaughter after accidentally causing the death of another person. When this happens (especially when involving a family member) the weight of a Manslaughter charge can be devastating. It can be hard for grieving friends, family members or other people close to a victim of Manslaughter to see the bigger picture and forgive you. When everything seems to be going against you, you need a strong advocate to stand by your side. You need someone who will fight hard for the best possible outcome in your Manslaughter case. Contact our Arapahoe County Manslaughter criminal lawyers today if you've been charged or accused of Manslaughter anywhere in Colorado.
Get Help Now
If you or a loved one has been arrested in Adams, Arapahoe or Douglas County and have been charged with Manslaughter, be smart and exercise your right to remain silent. Call our Denver Manslaughter criminal defense attorneys today at 303-830-0880 for a free initial consultation. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Gualberto107 – FreeDigitalPhotos.net