Contact Us to Request a Free Consultation 303-830-0880

Criminal Defense Blog

Denver Misdemeanor Criminal Mischief Charges | Damaging Property

Posted by Kyle B. Sawyer | Aug 11, 2020 | 0 Comments

Denver Misdemeanor Criminal Mischief Charges

Misdemeanor criminal mischief charges in Denver can result when someone damages another's property. When the value of damage done is under $1,000, a misdemeanor applies. Sometimes accidents are the root cause of a criminal mischief allegation, whereas others involve intentional acts of vandalism. This crime also often has ties to domestic violence when items are broken during an argument between current or former romantic partners. Hiring an experienced criminal mischief attorney early on has many benefits and can significantly impact the outcome of your unique case. Below we discuss misdemeanor criminal mischief in greater detail.

 Denver Criminal Mischief Law

Denver's criminal mischief law prohibits destruction of other people's property. CRS 18-4-501 defines the specific violations throughout Colorado. You commit misdemeanor criminal mischief in Denver, Cherry Creek, or Montbello if you:

  • knowingly damage,
  • the real or personal property of another,
  • AND the aggregate damage is < $1,000

This applies to breaking items in someone's home, damaging another's car, or ruining a person's electronic devices. Damage costs add up quickly as well. Reaching or exceeding the $1,000 figure can even result in felony charges.

What's the Sentence for Misdemeanor Criminal Mischief in Colorado?

Each criminal mischief case is different. As a result, punishments are as well. When the total value of damage is under $300, a class 3 misdemeanor applies. Conviction can result in:

  • up to 180 days in county jail,
  • a maximum fine of $750

When the value of damage done exceeds $300 but remains under $750, a class 2 misdemeanor applies. This can as much as double the county jail sentence and result in a maximum fine of $1,000. Damage totals that fall between $750 - $999 result in a class 1 misdemeanor. Conviction here can lead to up to 18 months in county jail and fines of $500 - $5,000. Additionally, with the domestic violence enhancement, mandatory arrest and impactful protection orders occur at the onset of a case.

Criminal Mischief Defense Attorney in Denver

Just because you've been charged with criminal mischief in Denver doesn't mean you're guilty. If police try to contact you regarding property damage, don't talk to them - talk to us. Our strategic criminal lawyers have decades of combined experience navigating criminal mischief charges throughout Colorado. Perhaps property wasn't destroyed, the damage was an accident, or the value is being exaggerated to increase penalties. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free consultation. We will carefully look over your criminal mischief case, as well as suggest next steps. With same-day jail visits and flexible payment plans, skilled representation is possible in uncertain times.

If you or someone you know is facing criminal mischief charges in Colorado, be smart. Contact the determined defense attorneys at O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo by Chuttersnap

About the Author

Kyle B. Sawyer

I have a passion for defending others in criminal cases. I am able to empathize with my clients and understand their emotions and fears. I have a unique perspective on the criminal justice system and I understand what it feels like to be wrongly accused of a crime.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Get Help Now

If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges in the Denver area, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future. Request a Free Consultation

Menu