Domestic violence harassment in Denver, Arapahoe, and Adams County isn't an uncommon charge. Allegations that you purposefully pestered an ex, your current romantic partner, or a co-parent can become problematic quickly. In 2021 and beyond, this offense often looks drastically different than it did even 5 years ago. Apps focused on messaging, email, or social media with direct messaging capabilities are often the medium where DV harassment commences. Any form of repeated communication with obscenities, threats, or taunting language directed toward a current or previous lover can lead to trouble. If you or someone you know is being accused of harassing a romantic partner, contacting a strategic criminal defense attorney early on has many benefits.
Denver DV Harassment Law
Denver's harassment law prohibits many acts meant to annoy or alarm another. CRS 18-9-111 addresses the elements of harassment throughout the state of Colorado. Police will pursue a domestic violence harassment charge if they believe you did one or more of the following against someone you've had an intimate relationship with:
- struck, shoved, or kicked the person,
- directed obscenities towards them in public, over the phone, or online,
- followed them in public,
- threatened property damage or bodily injury online or on the phone,
- made repeated communications at unreasonable hours,
- or taunted them with offense language trying to provoke an aggressive response
The current or prior intimate relationship is what triggers a domestic violence enhancement to this charge. Included in this is a mandatory arrest and protection order that substantially complicate the situation. Not being able to have any contact or even return home in some situations can create unnecessary hurdles.
What's the Sentence for DV Harassment in Denver?
Each domestic violence harassment case in Colorado is unique. The outcome depends on the facts of the situation. Harassment is at minimum a petty offense in Denver, Jefferson, and Douglas County, potentially resulting in:
- a county jail sentence of up to 6 months,
- fines of $50 - $750,
- evaluation / treatment,
- an extended restraining order
However, if the harassment is done due to the person's race, color, or religion, a class 1 misdemeanor applies. This can as much as double the county jail sentence and result in a maximum fine of $1K.
Denver's Top Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer
The need for skilled representation is high in all cases involving a domestic violence enhancement. Harassment is no exception and we're ready for your unique case. We have decades of combined experience successfully representing clients facing allegations involving DV and our reviews speak for themselves.
Perhaps harassment didn't occur, there wasn't intent to annoy or alarm anyone, or false accusations against you are motivated by revenge or anger after a breakup. Nevertheless, contact our office today for a free, confidential consultation. We will thoroughly analyze your case, answer your questions, and recommend next steps in your defense. Our same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans make hiring a top domestic violence defense lawyer a reality for the accused.
Don't talk to police about DV harassment - talk to us. 303-830-0880
Photo by Torsten Dettlaff
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment