It is never easy when we experience something embarrassing and don't want others to find out about it. Sometimes, in an effort to keep people from finding out, we unintentionally make matters worse. That was the case for one newspaper owner, who, according to the news, bought hundreds of copies of the local newspaper to keep people from reading about his drunken driving arrest. The newspaper owner apparently bought the newspaper copies at $1.25 each, hoping no one could get their hands on a copy. He also refused to be fingerprinted or photographed, and told police he didn't want his mugshot in the newspaper. However, to his dismay, his refusals were not enough, as his mugshot was still obtained from a county jail, and the story of his arrest was printed and published online. In Denver and Adams County, men and women will receive a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charge if driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. In other cases, they may face a lesser charge of Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) if driving while impaired by alcohol or one or more drugs. In today's blog, we'll discuss DUI charges in Colorado in more detail. If you are facing charges of Driving While Under the Influence or Driving While Ability Impaired in Colorado, contact the O'Malley Law Office.
Facing DUI charges?Get Help Now!
Driving Under the Influence, DUI in Jefferson County | How Can You Get a DUI?
The definition of Driving Under the Influence (DUI), C.R.S. 42-4-1301, in Jefferson County is:
“(1)(a) A person who drives a motor vehicle or vehicle under the influence of alcohol or one or more drugs, or a combination of both alcohol and one or more drugs, commits driving under the influence.”
You may be wondering what qualifies as “driving under the influence” in Colorado, as opposed to “driving while impaired”. The definition of “driving under the influence” is:“Driving a motor vehicle or vehicle when a person has consumed alcohol or one or more drugs, or a combination of both alcohol and one or more drugs, that affects the person to a degree that the person is substantially incapable, either mentally or physically, or both mentally and physically, to exercise clear judgment, sufficient physical control, or due care in the safe operation of a vehicle.”
Additionally, a person's Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) must be at 0.08 or above to face charges of DUI. If above 0.05 but less than 0.08, a person may instead face Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) charges.
Douglas County DUI Lawyer Explaining DUI Consequences
If you receive one to three DUI charges (including DWAI, or a combination of the two) in Douglas County, you will face up to a one-year jail sentence in the Douglas County Jail. Upon a conviction of your fourth DUI or DWAI, however, you will face up to 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections. A fourth DUI or DWAI conviction is a class 4 felony. A felony conviction of DUI or DWAI can be crippling. It can limit your ability to find a job, get a security clearance, or even rent a home. If you receive parole after a felony DUI or DWAI conviction and you want to drive while on parole, you must drive with an Ignition Interlock Device (IID). There are many restrictions upon a conviction of DUI or DWAI in Colorado, which is why you should always involve a criminal defense lawyer to help you with your alcohol driving case.
Driving While Under the Influence DUI Lawyer in Arapahoe County | Call the DUI Lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office
Lawmakers in Arapahoe County and across Colorado have made DUI / DWAI laws more strict, making it easier for men and women to be convicted of DUI or DWAI. The Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level has even been lowered. When so much is at risk for your future and freedom if facing an arrest or charge of DUI or DWAI, you need an experienced DUI lawyer to defend you. The criminal defense lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office know what it takes to work towards receiving a better outcome in your DUI or DWAI case, such as ensuring a non-prison sentence. If you or a loved one is facing charges of DUI or DWAI in Colorado, contact the O'Malley Law Office right away.
Get Help Now
When facing felony Driving While Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) charges in Colorado, be smart and exercise your right to remain silent. Then, contact a criminal defense lawyer at the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – Pexels
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment