Duty to report accidents in Denver is a law that defines the actions drivers must take after a collision that causes bodily injury or property damage. If you fail to notify police of an accident in Denver, Cherry Creek, or Montbello, you can be charged with a traffic misdemeanor. This can mean jail time, fines, and a misdemeanor on your record. Understandably, drivers aren't always in the clearest frame of mind following a car accident. This can unfortunately lead to criminal charges if procedures aren't followed carefully. Connect with a skilled traffic attorney right away if you're being accused of failing to report an accident in Colorado.
What is Denver's Duty to Report Accidents Law?
Denver's duty to report accidents law requires specific steps after collisions. CRS 42-4-1606 provides the elements of duty to report accidents throughout Colorado. You commit this traffic offense in Denver, Lodo, or Park Hill if you:
- are involved in a car crash,
- that causes property damage, injury, or death,
- AND fail to file an accident report
It is important that drivers also understand hit and run laws to avoid a leaving the scene of an accident charge. If law enforcement is at the scene of the accident making the report, drivers don't have to fulfill the duty to report an accident. It is common practice for police in Denver to not investigate crashes that don't involve injury and appear to include less than $1,000 in damage.
Will I Go to Jail for Failing to Report an Accident in Denver?
Each and every traffic offense is different. Penalties for failing to report an accident aren't always the same. Failing to follow your duty to report accidents is a class 2 traffic misdemeanor. A conviction can lead to:
- up to 3 months in county jail,
- fines of $150 - $300
A judge may take into account your previous record when applying a sentence for failure to report an accident.
Best Traffic Attorney in Denver
Finding the best traffic attorney in Denver is important for your unique case. Perhaps police were on the scene, you were too injured to complete these duties, or the damage / injury was discovered later. That said, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. One of our strategic defense attorneys will carefully look over your unique case, as well as outline next steps in your defense. We offer affordable fees and flexible payment plans for people facing traffic charges throughout Colorado.
If you or someone you know is being accused of failing to report an accident, proceed carefully. Call O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-830-0880.
Photo by Owen Lystrup