Domestic violence harassment in Aurora, Colorado occurs when someone purposefully troubles their ex, spouse, current or former girlfriend / boyfriend, or co-parent in certain ways. With an intentionally broad definition, harassment can come in many shapes and sizes. Obscene gestures, cyberbullying, and threats towards a significant other can be costly. Whether tempers flair during an argument or repeated texts get out of hand, law enforcement is quick to apply a domestic violence enhancement. If you or someone you know is being accused of DV harassment in Aurora, Centennial, or Englewood, contact a skilled domestic violence lawyer today.
Aurora Harassment Law
Arapahoe County's harassment law prohibits many behaviors that are meant to torment another person. CRS 18-9-111 is the criminal code that defines harassment in Colorado. You commit DV harassment in Aurora if, intending to harass, annoy, or alarm a current or former romantic partner, you:
- strike, shove, or kick them,
- direct obscenities to them in public, online, or over the phone,
- follow them in public,
- commit acts of cyberbullying,
- threaten property damage or injury online or on the phone,
- repeatedly call them or send messages that interfere with their privacy,
- or taunt them intending to provoke a violent response
The domestic violence enhancement enters the situation when the above occurs between those who are or were in an intimate relationship. This significantly complicates the situation with a mandatory arrest and restrictive protection order, regardless of whether the alleged victim wishes these to apply.
How Serious is DV Harassment in Arapahoe County?
In addition to the ramifications above, domestic violence harassment is at minimum a class 3 misdemeanor. A conviction in Arapahoe County can lead to:
- probation or a max of 6 months in county jail,
- fines of $50 - $750,
- a domestic violence treatment program
However, if the harassment was due to the victim's race, color, religious preferences, or national origin, a class 1 misdemeanor applies. This can mean up to 18 months in county jail and thousands of dollars in fines. Judges in DV cases can also choose to extend the restraining order in some situations.
Aurora Domestic Violence Lawyer
Those facing domestic violence harassment allegations in Arapahoe, Denver, or Douglas County should proceed carefully. Remember, just because you've been charged doesn't mean you're guilty. We recommend you exercise your right to remain silent and contact a strategic criminal lawyer right away. Perhaps harassment didn't occur or there was no intent to torment the other person. Nonetheless, schedule a free, confidential consultation with one of our highly-rated DV attorneys. We will carefully analyze your unique harassment case, as well as suggest next steps. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make experienced representation a reality in uncertain times.
Don't talk to police about DV harassment - talk to us. O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC 303-830-0880
Photo by Afzalbek Sadikov