In Denver, Jefferson County and across Colorado, if a driver of a vehicle is involved in a traffic accident that results in injury to, serious bodily injury to or the death of any person, or any property damage, they must report the traffic accident to police. Failure to do so will result in charges of Failure to Report an Accident, C.R.S. 42-4-1606. If required, the driver of the vehicle must return to and remain at the scene of the accident until the police have arrived. If the driver brings their vehicle to a garage or repair shop and the shop finds evidence the car was struck by any bullet, the repair shop must report the damage to police. If contacted by police regarding charges for violating the many requirements listed under Duty to Report Accidents, C.R.S. 42-4-1606, remain silent and call a top traffic crimes lawyer at the O'Malley Law Office immediately.
Facing Failure to Report an Accident charges?Get Help Now!
Traffic Accidents in Douglas County Resulting in Injury or Death: Medical Aid Must Be Given
Additionally, any traffic accident in Douglas County or Arapahoe County resulting in injury to, serious bodily injury to, or death of any person or damage to any vehicle will be required to give the driver's name, address, vehicle registration number and driver's license to police. They must also make sure medical assistance is provided for anyone injured in the accident, or drive them to the nearest hospital.
When Adams County Police Aren't Required to File an Accident Report
In Adams County, Washington County and across Colorado, police are not required to complete an investigation or file an accident report if, in the case of an accident involving a motor vehicle:
1.The police officer believes the damage to the property of another person isn't above $1,000;
2.The traffic accident doesn't involve injury to or death of any person (except a police officer must file an accident report if requested to by someone involved in the accident or if someone can't show proof of insurance).
In the event that the accident occurred did not involve a motor vehicle, police won't be required to file an accident report if the accident didn't result in serious bodily injury to or the death of anyone. Violating what's listed under Duty to Report Accidents, C.R.S. 42-4-1606, can result in a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense. This could lead to up to a 90-day Adams County jail sentence and a $300 possible fine.
Failure to Report an Accident Charges in Colorado: Call Our Traffic Attorneys Today
It is worth knowing that there is a criminal law located at C.R.S. 42-4-1601, involving the duty to stop at the accident scene and remain there if someone is injured or dies. Failure to do so will result in the loss of your driver's license, and possible imprisonment for many years, depending on the severity of injury resulting from the crash. Call one of our expert criminal defense lawyers today if facing any traffic offense charges in Colorado. We will fight hard to protect your driving rights and future.
Get Help Now
If police have contacted you regarding Failure to Report an Accident charges anywhere in Colorado, be wise and exercise your right to remain silent. Next, contact the top criminal defense lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
Image Credit: Pixabay – Unsplash
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment